• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel vs. New AMD chipset?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ClarkKent

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Location
Toronto, Canada
I've been reading a lot intels new 925x chipset. Currently I'm an AMD man but this new chipset seems to be the way to go for my new rig. My question is what new AMD chipsets will be out to counter Intels 925x?
 

- W.C Pohna -

Registered
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Yeah but in all honesty it seems the smarter move to stay away from the recent 925x chipsets as they all seem to have bugs and errors. Also NForce 4 is gonna be the **** rather than intels POS chipsets they've be turning out.
 

Zac42

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2004
Location
Tallahassee FL
I've heard from various forumns and news site that it will have dual pci-e x16 slots... I believe that that is the most important feature :clap: Other than that I think it is very close to the NF3 feature wise. I've got an A8V ATM, but when NF4 comes out I'm planning on using te A8V to replace my old XP200+ machine, and drop in 6800GTs!
 
OP
ClarkKent

ClarkKent

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Location
Toronto, Canada
I'd be happy with DDR2 and an unlocked AMD64. I've seen new intel boards with up to 8 SATA ports. I hope Nvidia does a great job cause I love to expand.
 

MiNdWaRp

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2004
Location
Montana
ClarkKent said:
I thought NQC was a harddrive trait? Or do I have that wrong?

Yes it is a harddrive trait, maybe I'm wrong, but I thought that in order to use it it had to be supported by your motherboard chipset?
 
OP
ClarkKent

ClarkKent

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Location
Toronto, Canada
I didn't think there had to be motherboard support for NQC. I could be wrong on that piont but the drives are already coming out aren't they?

Zac42 that is a great article link. Nforce4 is going to kick butt. I can't wait. I just hope 939 chip prices start to drop conciderably. A nice San Diego chip on a Nforce4 board would be just the thing for christmas.
 

DanIdentity

Member
Joined
May 30, 2004
The chipset and harddrive both have to support NCQ.

And W.C Pohna, if you're talking about the southbridge issues and the recall, all that has been cleared up. There haven't been reports of any other bugs with the 925x chipsets.
 

Dragonprince

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Location
CT
DanIdentity said:
if you're talking about the southbridge issues and the recall, all that has been cleared up. There haven't been reports of any other bugs with the 925x chipsets.

Isnt 1 bug enough to make you worry about the chipset ? I'd wait until rev2 hits before spending money on a chipset that was obviously rushed to market to try and counter the 939 boards.....
 

DanIdentity

Member
Joined
May 30, 2004
Dragonprince said:
Isnt 1 bug enough to make you worry about the chipset ? I'd wait until rev2 hits before spending money on a chipset that was obviously rushed to market to try and counter the 939 boards.....

No, not really. The problem was in the manufacturing process, not the chipset itself. So there was no way of detecting the leakage problem until the chipsets were manufactured.

The problem didn't affect that many boards, but they recalled them all just to be sure. I'm not trying to blindly defend Intel, but they made a mistake, admitted to it, and dealt with it promptly. They provided full refunds to all distributors.

If you buy the chipset now, technically you are buying "rev 2." There aren't plans for a "rev 2" 925/915 chipset set in the future. They will just be replaced by new chipsets.
 
Last edited:
OP
ClarkKent

ClarkKent

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Location
Toronto, Canada
Ok so I've done some homework and I'm definetily going to go with Nforce4 when it arrives. But I have some question that I hope some one can answer. Will there be boards that support SLI and some that don't? Will we have the choice, cause if there was a major price drop for going without it I might.
 

dragon_788

Registered
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Location
USA
There will very likely be some vendors that don't include 2x PCIe 16x ports for cost reasons, and they will be cheaper. I personally might buy one with the the 2x ports, but I would only use one til the cards get cheaper and then I'd have to have some SLI goodness.
 
OP
ClarkKent

ClarkKent

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Location
Toronto, Canada
A dual graphic card setup would be sweet (especially for you if you are really only running 1M PCI card). I realize it will help game play but will it help video editing as well or is that based more on CPU and harddrive speed? Cause if that is the case then I would rather break the bank on a top of the line CPU and save money on not going SLI.