• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

internet speed

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soldierguy

Hi there

I'm a noob at this stuff, and I'm playing more on line games and in the process I'm evaluating my internet connection "speedtest" results from www.speedtest.net. My results look really bad. And that surprises me. I'm wondering why so bad. I ran 3 test within the last 20 min--its 9Am PST here. And they all look the same. I'm getting down 2.57mb/s and up .043 mb/s and a ping of 26ms. I don't have any recorded history of previous tests, and don't remember what the previous results were. Because of that i'm not sure if this is temporary or something in my telephone wire here at home or the service that I'm using. Currently I'm using AT&T DSL a standard service that comes with a phone--a phone I don't really need-hardly ever use the land line! Could live fine with the Cell. Thinking of switching to cable--Comcast or? Are they better? They promise much higher speeds! Do they deliver. Should I first try replacing the phone wire from the box on the outside of my house that runs into the house etc--its only a few inches actually but its probably ages old? Does it go bad? I would think if it works/its working, but what do I know? Or could it be slower because of the wired router I'm using--I can of course remove the router and test again. I'm using a D-Link Broadband Gigabit Gaming Router model DGL-4100 and it is "wired". Also using a At&T Motorola dsl modem ADSL Modem model 2210-02.
According to on line web page data etc my address at home with Comcast would give me 16mb/s 2mb/s up to 20mb/s 4mb/s for ther "performance" mode:confused:. Is that right? That's a huge improvement. Or is that just smoke?

Appreciate any help
Thanks Tom

Leviathan41