• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is my 800 Celeron going to have enough "oomph" to make use of a Radeon 8500?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TUK101

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Location
Wash. State
Is my 800 Celeron going to have enough "oomph" to make use of a Radeon 8500?

I have a Celeron 800 clocked at 1066 and am wondering if it will have enough power to make use of a Radeon 8500 card. I am running a 32 mb ddr Radeon right now and it works pretty good, but I noticed a bit of stutter when playing Max Payne. I am wanting a newer card so that I feel confident that I will get the most out of these newer games when i buy them. Would it be better to start with a new mobo and processor? Or can I get another year out of this system with a new video card. See sig for rest of system specs.
 

PigGuy

Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
Michigan
No.

Right now I am running a 750 duron, and my 3D mark scores suck bad. I score about 4800 at 280/280 (275/275 is standard 8500) with my 8500LE 128MB. Thats pretty sad in comparison to what the nice CPUs score with the same card.
 

John1975

Helpful Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2001
you should be able to get close to 6000 points on 3dmark

I got about 6200 with a celly 850 @ 1333 and about 7500 with a celly 1.2 @ 1.56
 
OP
TUK101

TUK101

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Location
Wash. State
Well, i plan on upgrading my comp in the next year to at least a Tualatin processor, or a Pentium 4. I guess that no matter what if I get the Radeon 8500 that the 5-6000 score would be better than the 2700-3200 scores that I can get, all varying with how I OC this card. But it sounds to me that I will get much better performance out of any newer card if I upgrade to a faster cpu. This is what I was figuring anyhow. Thanks for the comments.
 

CSaddict

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Location
CT, USA
Buying the card will do nothing but improve your system. I would buy it if I were you. You will gain performance regardless.
 

freddiedaman

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
agree, you can also look at it the other way: At least you know the 8500 will push your CPU to its limit:)

But I dont know if the 8500 is the clear choice anymore.....with the GF4TI4200 coming up at around $160 the next month or so....depends on if you will upgrade your MoBo and CPU later.

/freddie
 

SaT985

Registered
Joined
Dec 30, 2001
8500 has some better techs than gf4 does. DX9 and pixel shaders 1.4. aside from that gf4 will probably be a little faster. the 44 or 4600 that is. i hear 4200 will be clocked at like 250/250 and have 64 ram. 8500 will smoke that. anyway cpu's are still the limiting factor for the card. 1.4ghz is nowhere near enuff. even a [email protected] the 3dmark scores keep going up, moreso than just a faster chip would.
 

Violator

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Location
Lower Walton, Warrington
SaT985 said:
8500 has some better techs than gf4 does. DX9 and pixel shaders 1.4. aside from that gf4 will probably be a little faster. the 44 or 4600 that is. i hear 4200 will be clocked at like 250/250 and have 64 ram. 8500 will smoke that. anyway cpu's are still the limiting factor for the card. 1.4ghz is nowhere near enuff. even a [email protected] the 3dmark scores keep going up, moreso than just a faster chip would.

Hmm since when does the 8500 support DX9??. PX1.4 yes, but this isn't much use unless they're actually utilised now are they?. GF4 has a far better AA implementation for starters, clock speeds aren't everything. Why should the 8500 smoke a 4200?? because it's clocked lower? heard of better architecture?? you're comparing a 6 month old card with brand new tech........
 

NODES

Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Location
Toronto
its not really new tech. its just a bit faster.....there is no new implantations like DX9, i think...
 

GravY

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Location
Michigan
The only thing the Radeon8500 will lose at with the 4200 is possibly AA, but with the 4200's ram at 64.. it's not going to be by much..

If you look at the most recent reviews of the Radeon8500 using newer drivers it actually keeps real close the the 4600 in straight up benchmarks.. no AA or Aniso..

Aniso is the biggest benifit with the Radeon8500 16X is only about a 10% hit.. and looks down right amazing..

here is a review of a Gigabyte Board stock and overclocked compared to a TI4600.. you will be suprised..


http://www.ocworkbench.com/2002/gigabyte/radeon8500deluxe/radeon8500p0.htm