• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is my CPU BAD, or......

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zzeer0o

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Hi,

Im running:

STANDARD BIOS SETTINGS - NOT Overclocked
board: km266pro-8235 (has most recent driver)
cpu: amd athlon xp 2400+
memory: 1gig kingston ddr pc 2700 333mhz
hd: maxtor diamonmax20 80 gig 7200 rpm
cd-rom: hl-dt-st cd-rw gce-8160B (has most recent driver)
psu: enlight gps-250ab-100L
psu(secondary): antec pp-303x 300w
video/display: radeon 9800 256MB GDDR2 (has most recent driver)
audio: stock onboard audio (has most recent driver)

Memtest results = standard scan 12 passes - no fails
comprehensive scan 2 passes - no fails

Prime95 results = [Sun Mar 23 02:02:36 2008]
FATAL ERROR: Resulting sum was -3.41829454555409e-005, expected: 104429803759.4056
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
Torture test ran 0 minutes -1 errors 0 warnings.

Temperature (using SPEEDFAN) - never passes 54C even during application/games
(normally stays around 47C-50C)
IDLES around 30C-40C

Basically, no matter what type of application I run, it will FATAL. Giving me an error message along the lines of "0xC0000005 (ACCESS_VIOLATION)...."
This error happens not only during use of IE, Crazybrowser, VLC media player. GOM player, Windows Media player, Warcraft 3: TFT.

ALL THE APPS are legal, none are cracks. The access violation never changes always 0xC0000005. ALREADY TRIED http://www.updatexp.com/0xC0000005.html
, just not the FULL DEP DISABLE.

VIRUSES: I have reinstalled Windows XP home sp2, at the minimum 5 times. And immidiately after scanned for viruses, and installed firewall/antivirus software. Even when i recieve the error, i show no signs of a virus.

Registry: I have checked my registy at the minimum of once a day, using GLARY UTILITIES or S&D spyware/registry cleaner.

HARD DRIVE: i've ran error checking and defragging at least 3 times each, with no errors for Error checking.

PSU: I used to run just 1 power supply, but i saw some people saying stuff about "not enough power being a problem". SO i started using the secondary PSU for my hard drive and CD-ROM, and the primary for motherboard and Video Card.

PLEASE, someone help me, i dont know what else do to, because I can't acquire a replacment mobo or cpu for now. I need this FATAL 0xC0000005 problem resolved.
 
Last edited:
OP
Z

zzeer0o

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
my bad.

ya stock, running standard bios settings. I did at one point change the cas latency from 2.5 to 2.0 hoping that could resolve the problem.
 

Niku-Sama

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
if its the ram going tighter on the CAS would only make problems worse.
try any added voltage to the proccessor?
if not give that a shot, only one notch to see if it helps at all
 

TheCheat

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
As Niku said, lowering timing variables on your memory only stresses the system more. I would set them to 3-3-3-8 until you figure out your problem. You can set them back to what they were after we figure out your problem.

Just to rule out a huge problem/possibility, check the caps on your motherboard and make sure they are not bulging. Here is a link to a picture explaining what I mean:

Example of bulging caps
 

Niku-Sama

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
i dont consider caps bad untill they bleed all the way down the face of the board but yea worth a look, it is asus after all
 
OP
Z

zzeer0o

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
done, done and done.

I changed the cpu voltage to 1.6V and the dram settings to 3-3-3-8.

Also, I noticed that there were some bulging on the caps nearest the cpu, but not on those farther near the video slot.
 

TheCheat

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
That might be your culprit for your stability problem. I'll see if I can find the guy on this forum thats a specialist with bad caps and such. He'll be able to point you in the right direction as to what to do.
 

TheCheat

Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Sorry to double post but it seems Super Nade (the guy who offers a service for replacing bad caps) is "on exile"....

Sorry zzeer0o, I only know how to identify bad caps... not how to fix/replace them.

Perhaps someone else will be able to help you further... or

See if someone can offer you further assistance at badcaps.net
 

glussier

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
I changed the cpu voltage to 1.6V and the dram settings to 3-3-3-8.

Also, I noticed that there were some bulging on the caps nearest the cpu, but not on those farther near the video slot.

The core voltage for the xp2400+ should be 1.65v.
 
OP
Z

zzeer0o

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
btw

only let me change the vcore to 1.6V

But, I talked to someone that knows a little about capacitors, and he said that is most likely why I would be losing power, not because of the psu, because I've already replaced my psu to no avail.

So, Im going to get his help with the caps for now, if anyone can find a different option for me to try, please let me and thanks for everything so far.
 

Swimma

Registered
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Location
Farmington, MN
As Niku said, lowering timing variables on your memory only stresses the system more. I would set them to 3-3-3-8 until you figure out your problem. You can set them back to what they were after we figure out your problem.

Just to rule out a huge problem/possibility, check the caps on your motherboard and make sure they are not bulging. Here is a link to a picture explaining what I mean:

Example of bulging caps

what causes this?
 

Nebulous

Señor Senior, Senior
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
what causes this?

As I remember the caps act like cushings/buffers for the current supplied to the chip/board. Over time the chemical inside starts boiling (this is why the caps get warm). Over a longer period of time the canister (the round cap itself) starts to deterioate (sp?) and cannot sustain the high temp inside the cap. Thus you get that bulging effect which leads to the top of the cap (the weakest point) bust open and start to leak. Of course the higher the voltage supplied to the chip, the hotter the caps get. End results are either bulging, leaking caps, or the caps just explode (pop). This was also caused by inferior caps being installed on the boards during manufacturing.

Much like when you boil an egg and the shell cracks, then the egg starts leaking.

Not sure if that's the correct terminology, but that's how i remember it.

Skt 462 (A) boards were notorious for this, especially the Epox boards. I had several and i had to replace a boatload of caps. I also had a few caps explode, lol.
 

glussier

Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
only let me change the vcore to 1.6V

But, I talked to someone that knows a little about capacitors, and he said that is most likely why I would be losing power, not because of the psu, because I've already replaced my psu to no avail.

So, Im going to get his help with the caps for now, if anyone can find a different option for me to try, please let me and thanks for everything so far.

Is this the DFI km266pro? If so, how did you modify the cpu core voltage, it's bios doesn't even let you do this?
 
OP
Z

zzeer0o

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
its not dfi, but...

.... it doesnt really matter, since two blown caps, and 3 bulging ones were found. IF not the bulging ones, the blown ones should be the culprit.

And i did change the voltage, i may not be expert in hardware modding or even expert, but i know when my vcore changes from 1.5v to 1.6v on boot that what i did worked.

Thanks for everyones help again, saved me the cost of a new psu.
 
OP
Z

zzeer0o

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
...btw

I finally got my new caps and replaced them, using mildly ghetto soldering and 5 caps that didnt really match up in size.

I ran torture test with blend setting, and it didnt crash for over 5 mins, i stopped it. The test would always halt at 5-6 secs (20-25 tries). So thanks everyone at this forum, i posted the same info on almst 6 other sites, and you guys were the only ones that even got close to the problem.