• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is my memory killing my oc

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zip22

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2003
i think my memory is to blame. i can get my fsb to 225 easy, but i fail prime95 torture test(blend) after 1 min. i pretty sure its my mem, but could it also be my mobo. btw the mem i have is corsair value select.
 
OP
zip22

zip22

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2003
btw im not especially fluent in mem lingo yet. if there are any recomendations as to some good mem i can get for $200-$250 that can handle an oc up to 3.2 (hopefully) let me know, my b-day is coming up.
 
OP
zip22

zip22

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2003
thanks for the suggestion, but there is a thread titled (that memory you just suggested) and a slight incompatability with intel 875 chipsets (which makes me mad seeing as how that mushkin mem seems excellent). there is also a review on newegg stating a similar problem. in the other thread, they said that a with that mem, i could only get a fsb of 230 max probably. im looking for something thatll take me further. i also read the thread with all the questions and the superb answers, and feel a little more comfortable. does anyone have some suggestions as to some memory that can get my oc to 3.0+ on an intel 875 chipset?
 

CCW

Xtreme refugee
Joined
Nov 8, 2003
Location
UK
Have you tried giving your memory some extra voltage to see if it will run stable at that FSB? Within -/+ 10% is a safe voltage to give it however if your board will let you you could give it probably up to 3.1 and still be *safe*

Craig
 

hepp

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Location
Finland
Mushkin lvl 2 is not incompatible with 875 chipset.
What the poster means is that you may need to increase tRCDfrom 2 to 3 at slightly lower DDR speed on intel 865/875 chipsets than you'd need to with the same stick on an nForce2 board.

This is quite clearly indicated on the Mushkin site, and would apply equally to other BH5 based modules.

This does not make it worse than other modules since most other modules would need 2-3-2-6 already at DDR400.

There is not really anything that will take you further with low timings and 1:1, unless your mobo can supply more than 3V VDIMM.

You could try running your current memory at 5:4 to see how far your CPU is stable.

Benefit of this is that you don't have to buy anything, and you can try it now. You will also get a better idea what FSB your new memory needs to be capable of.
If you like the result you could then swap that memory for something with tighter timings e.g. the one already suggest.

The drawback is that some boards are not so great with 5:4
(I am not familiar with your board) but if that is an issue it is better to find that out now rather than after you have bought new memory. Perhaps you should search around to see if others have been successful with that board or if there are known issues with it.

Good luck!
hepp
 
OP
zip22

zip22

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2003
yeah i did try giving it more voltage(i think 2.8 was the max). i could get windows to load with the 228 fsb whereas without i could only get windows below it, but i failed prime 95 quick. i haven't done any memory benchmarking or testing.
 
OP
zip22

zip22

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2003
i tried to use a 5:4 ratio, but i get i get no post. should my fsb be high, or normal? voltage be normal or high? also, i was looking around my bios to find memory timings, but can't find anyplace to set them.
 
OP
zip22

zip22

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2003
alright, i can get the sytem up and running fine with everything stock and 5:4. once im in windows, i used gigabytes "easytune" to overclock to 3.3, and everything seemed fine. i don't really like using easytune and having another program running on my system so i tried setting the bios to the same settings: fsb 250, 5:4 and i get no post. i tried bumping the voltage a little, but still no post. why can i do it with easytune, and not in the bios? is there a setting im messing up in the bios? i can't seem to get any oc when i use the 5:4 in the bios



im still trying. when everything is normal, and the 5:4, boots fine and i can get the fsb up over 250 using easytune. when i try to up the fsb even a little while in the bios, no post.... any one have an idea?
 
Last edited:
OP
zip22

zip22

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2003
yeah they're fixed, and if i get better memory, will i see much greater performance, even though i may not be able to adjust the timings?
 
OP
zip22

zip22

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2003
i still can't seem to get my oc to work in the bios, but i am running stable at 3.159 with a fsb of 245. if i am going to get some new ram, would you still reccomend the mushkin? since my fsb will be 245-250, and if my mem is running 1:1 should i get DDR500? or would this not necessarily be the best?
 
Last edited:

hepp

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Location
Finland
If you can't run 5:4 and your VDIMM is limited to 2.8V you will not get far with the Mushkin 3500 lvl 2, however great it might be.

5:4 issues tend to be worse rather than better with tight memory so if you don't have the patience to find out why your mobo is behaving like that then I think PC4000 might be better for you assuming your BIOS will allow you to increase the FSB.

If your 2.6 is stable at 3.3Ghz you need just over 250 FSB and just about any PC4000 will do that. Double banked modules will give you a decent b/w even if the latencies will not be that great.

Good luck!
hepp