• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Is my mobo missing mosfets ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

damsanchande

Hello and have a nice day everyone!

Please help me with this dumb question and bear with me cause i'm a complete noob about mobo. And my English also.

I got my hand on an old Asus M4A79XTD EVO. It won't POST so i decided to clean it up. After removing the VRM Heatsink, i noticed that there are 2 white slots where mosfets should be placed ( i think ).

So is my board missing 2 mosfets or that's the design ?
Sx3Gv2q.jpg

Update: Thank you all! The mosfets definitely got pulled out by someone, or something? The mobo wasn't made this way!

Last edited:
Yes sir. Most definitely missing. They were there at one time because there are pieces left.

Last edited:
They didn't stick to the heatsink did they?

Um, this shouldn't be possible. Either you missed the blue fire, or a time goblin stole your FETs.

Solder doesn't get weak over time like this. Either this was a very badly put together motherboard, or something else is very wrong.

Can you clean up the picture on one of the FETs? Did you see any black smudges around the area or coated on the thermal pads of the VRMs?

This is a total what if your not jerking us around :)

Um, this shouldn't be possible. Either you missed the blue fire, or a time goblin stole your FETs.

Solder doesn't get weak over time like this. Either this was a very badly put together motherboard, or something else is very wrong.

Can you clean up the picture on one of the FETs? Did you see any black smudges around the area or coated on the thermal pads of the VRMs?

This is a total what if your not jerking us around :)