• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is my OC safe for day to day use?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sasani

Registered
I have had some experience overclocking with AMD, recently I bought a new system

Asus z170 AR
i5 6600k
Watercooled

I thought I would let AI Suite III auto overclock my system and I have reached 4.7Ghz with the following voltages etc...
OC.PNG

I have two questions:
1. is it safe to keep this OC for day to day use, can it kill my CPU? or should I save it as a profile and use default settings day to day
2. is it worth going through a manual OC to get better or is the AI Suite OC likely to be as good as it gets?

Any help would be much appreciated.

wingman99

What does CPU-Z say for core voltage under load also have your run a good stress test like Pime95?

Keep the temperature under 90c and Vcore voltage below 1.44v

OP
S

sasani

Registered
Here are some numbers while running Prime 95

DRAM Voltage is 1.2 - everything else is:
OC.PNG

Kenrou

VCore is right at the edge, as long as you keep your temps under 90c you're golden :thup:

OP
S

sasani

Registered
Thanks guys, temps are really low.

So no downside to leaving it overclocked if stable then?

This is an upgrade from AMD FX9320 - and it feels so much faster already and I haven't even gotten into a game yet! The rate at which it gets through those prime tests feels like more than double the speed of the AMD.

Silver_Pharaoh

Likes the big ones n00b Member
Thanks guys, temps are really low.

So no downside to leaving it overclocked if stable then?

This is an upgrade from AMD FX9320 - and it feels so much faster already and I haven't even gotten into a game yet! The rate at which it gets through those prime tests feels like more than double the speed of the AMD.