• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is the 9600np better than the 9600se?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

wanna_b_rich_13

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
They are basically the same.

The 9600np is 325/400 speeds and 64bit (128bit versions if you can find them)

The 9600SE is 325/400 speeds and are 64bit (they don't make 128bit versions of SE)
 

Overclocker550

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2002
both are clocked the same, but the "se" means slow edition which means 64 bit ram. you DO NOT want the se, the non pro is nearly twice as fast!!!!!!!
 

wanna_b_rich_13

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Overclocker550 said:
the non pro is nearly twice as fast!!!!!!!

If you had the 128bit version of the 9600np that would probably be true, but considering they don't make them anymore I do not think it would be very easy to find.
 

attack

Member
Joined
May 23, 2002
hmm, ATI's website says 128bit....if you got a 64bit you could lay into ATI
 

wanna_b_rich_13

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
ajrettke said:
hmm, ATI's website says 128bit....if you got a 64bit you could lay into ATI

It depends which card you get. ATI may only make 128 but there are other manufacuteres making 64bit too.
 

Evnas

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
ajrettke said:
hmm, ATI's website says 128bit....if you got a 64bit you could lay into ATI

Maybe...if it werent for this line in the Terms of Use:

"Prices, specifications and availability of products sold on ATI.com are subject to change without notice."

What they have on their website pertains, legally, only to what they sell from ATi.com
 

Overclocker550

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2002
so they stopped making 128 bits and now most of the non pros are actually 64 bit "se" crap like the 64 bit fx5200s many people dont even know they have which gets badly owned by an mx440?
 

wanna_b_rich_13

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
ajrettke said:
how do you tell if the card is 64bit or 128 bit?

The card is half the width of regular cards. It also is mentioned on the box as 64bit. A fancy word for it is also being called "Low Profile"