• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is the swiftech

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

WillysNut

Senior Jeep Nut
Joined
Apr 18, 2001
Location
NY, USA
Well, seeing as the Swiftech's are pretty much purpose built for AMD processors/boards, I'd have to say, yes! However...If you're gonna spend $30.00 on the all alum. version...why not save up and get this one:


It's only 20 bucks more and it has the copper base which will really kick *** if you plan having an AMD which is "Overclocked to HELL" He he! I would highly suggest going w/ the copper over the alum version...it's the way things are heading...for now!
 

Aman99

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
WillysNut (May 25, 2001 08:33 p.m.):
Well, seeing as the Swiftech's are pretty much purpose built for AMD processors/boards, I'd have to say, yes! However...If you're gonna spend $30.00 on the all alum. version...why not save up and get this one:


It's only 20 bucks more and it has the copper base which will really kick *** if you plan having an AMD which is "Overclocked to HELL" He he! I would highly suggest going w/ the copper over the alum version...it's the way things are heading...for now!


Yeah swiftech are like the best AMD aircoolers you can get. I agree with Willysnut though, go with the big time heatsink if you wanna overclock the hell out of it, although you will need to get an 80 mm fan instead of a 60 mm one to mount on it.

Aaron
 
OP
P

phiber

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Location
Queens, NY
but is costs alot more and i will have to get another fan for it
and isnt it to big for the KT7A
 

WillysNut

Senior Jeep Nut
Joined
Apr 18, 2001
Location
NY, USA
Jim, Those are all factors to consider.

1) The diff. between 30 and 53 bucks is minimal...wait a little while...you'll be much happier in the end. A lot of us suffer from "I NEED IT NOW" syndrome! Be patient.

2) I would check w/ the manufacturer of the board to see if the Swiftech unit will work on the board.

OR

Do you have the board currently? First...check to make sure you have the 4 mounting holes on the mobo required for the swiftech. Second, try cutting a piece of paper in a square...your shooting for 2.5" x 2.5". Keep cutting until you have a square that fits over the socket and is the maximum allowable space between the edges of the socket and any nearby mobo parts.

Take the dimensions of your square when your done and compare them to the swiftec's dimensions which are:2.5" x 2.5"

Hope this helps!
 
OP
P

phiber

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Location
Queens, NY
WillysNut (May 26, 2001 07:25 a.m.):
Jim, Those are all factors to consider.

1) The diff. between 30 and 53 bucks is minimal...wait a little while...you'll be much happier in the end. A lot of us suffer from "I NEED IT NOW" syndrome! Be patient.

2) I would check w/ the manufacturer of the board to see if the Swiftech unit will work on the board.

OR

Do you have the board currently? First...check to make sure you have the 4 mounting holes on the mobo required for the swiftech. Second, try cutting a piece of paper in a square...your shooting for 2.5" x 2.5". Keep cutting until you have a square that fits over the socket and is the maximum allowable space between the edges of the socket and any nearby mobo parts.

Take the dimensions of your square when your done and compare them to the swiftec's dimensions which are:2.5" x 2.5"

Hope this helps!

well i think it would fit cuz i have the 4 mounting holes
and is it easy to attach it
 

SleepyKat

Member
Joined
May 10, 2001
4 holes aside. You need to verify that there is a 3 inch by 3 inches clearance needed around you socket . Some MB do not follow the guidelines and there may be a cap or something(sticking up above the socket) that may prevent the HS for seating properly. I tried a nonconductive shim for support....hmmm.... It may have been the shim or that the washers that was suppose to come with the HS wasn't there but something didn't allow for the HS to come in good contact with the cpu and I caught a rise to 70 C before a panick shutdown... I removed the shim and added the 8 missing washer to the 4 springs per Swiftech page.
I like my Swiftech MC462-A although the Delta fan is noisy noisy.
1 GHz =>1.417 GHz 45 C at full load
 

Aman99

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2001
If its the REV-1 heatsink, and from the looks of the picture it is, then it should fit all AMD motherboards :)

Aaron
 

YahooDave

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
I currently use the Swiftech 462A on a ABIT KT7 board and it fits fine. You should have no problems putting this HS on the KT7A board as they are the same.
 
OP
P

phiber

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Location
Queens, NY
is it worth it to wait and get the other one or just to get the one before is it a minimal change