• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is there any chance I could still get a unlocked Barton 2500+?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Raiders4ever

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
IF so what is the highest it could be overclocked using just the fsb? I am using the best ram(ddr-400) and whet is said to be the best mobo(NF7-S). I want to get to at least 2300.
 

BalliN

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2003
Location
Houston. TX
If you look at small computer shops in your area, that don't sell many I'm sure you can find one.

Peace,

BalliN
 

kayl

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2003
Location
australia
i have a locked barton week 043, i just bought a week 030 yesterday off ebay in autralia unlocked, yet to put it in. my old unlocked barton 031 did 12x200 at vcore 1.925v. hope the new barton doest better though, i have better cooling now so gonna burn it in first and push her up, if its a good one gonna buy a spare for later on hehe


ps i think most do on average of 2300 but just depends if you get a locked or unlocked chip and if your gear can run high FSB (mother board and ram)
 
Last edited:

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
These people had them. I know some members bought some from them, but that was a couple of weeks ago. Give 'em a call or email.

Hoot
 

maxima88

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Raiders4ever said:
But the default is 13, the newegg ones at least.

The default multi for a XP2500+ Barton is 11x.
Stock speed is 1830mhz (11 x 166FSB).

The XP3000+ Barton has a default 13x multi. I suggest you double check to see what processor you're buying that has a 13x default multi.
 

RafaDel

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Raiders4ever said:
IF so what is the highest it could be overclocked using just the fsb? I am using the best ram(ddr-400) and whet is said to be the best mobo(NF7-S). I want to get to at least 2300.

Why you care about multipliers if you want to play only with FSB??? Taking a 2600+ with a good stepping would be fine.
 
Last edited:

SoulEdge

Registered
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
z3r0 said:
You would ATLEAST be able to get 2.5ghz

Nothing is guaranteed. Actually, 2.5ghz would be rather optimistic for aircooling. I'd say around 2.4 would be a more reasonable expectation.
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Depending upon the "luck of the draw", 2500 Mhz Stable is optimistic even with water cooling. You never know, until you buy it, whether your particular CPU and motherboard will allow you to make much more than 2400, regardless of cooling. I've had one 2500 and two 2600s and none of them ran 2500 Mhz on either of my NF7-S 2.0 boards, nor my A7N8X 2.0 board. It wasn't for lack of high quality cooling or beefy power supply either. Oh, they would boot, run MemTest86, even sometimes pass 3D Mark 2001se, but when it came time to run Prime95 Torture Priority 10, they always fell. One try they might make it for only 9 minutes, the next try, with the same settings they might make it 2-1/2 hourss, but never more than that. it didn't matter whether I was shooting for that speed with high multiplier, high FSB, or medium both, I just haven't been among the lucky few to get that with these Bartons.

Hoot
 

RafaDel

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Hoot said:
Depending upon the "luck of the draw", 2500 Mhz Stable is optimistic even with water cooling. You never know, until you buy it, whether your particular CPU and motherboard will allow you to make much more than 2400, regardless of cooling. I've had one 2500 and two 2600s and none of them ran 2500 Mhz on either of my NF7-S 2.0 boards, nor my A7N8X 2.0 board. It wasn't for lack of high quality cooling or beefy power supply either. Oh, they would boot, run MemTest86, even sometimes pass 3D Mark 2001se, but when it came time to run Prime95 Torture Priority 10, they always fell. One try they might make it for only 9 minutes, the next try, with the same settings they might make it 2-1/2 hourss, but never more than that. it didn't matter whether I was shooting for that speed with high multiplier, high FSB, or medium both, I just haven't been among the lucky few to get that with these Bartons.

Hoot

I don't fully agree with this. Prime priority 10 just affects the CPU temperature. If you reach the critical point you crash. You may see the same effect with a speed controled fan.

If you know the temp limit for an specific overclock and you stay below it you will be stable.

;)
 

Aeon Flux

I NEED TO CONTACT SILVERSINKSAM, AS I HAVE A OUTST
Joined
Aug 12, 2003
Any retail AMD or INTEL heatsink you can buy will be more then overkill for any video card out at the moment. I out a volcano 7 with a peltier on my kyro and the kyro put out so little heat a 33 watt peltier froze it. Currently GPU's are still putting out as little heat as the original pentiums did. Thats why most of them dont even have fans yet.

Mostly its just a matter of modding the heatink to fit on the video card. Make sure you dont want to use the heatsink for a CPU again. iIf you ever think you might try using string to tie the heatsink on. I know it sounds ghetto as all hell but if your good at tieing knots and tieing the string tight it can be used as a really really nice clamp to get it tight and secure on the video card. I did this a few times to test some things (including the volcano and pelt on the kyro) and it worked great. Easiest way to mod it premamntly would be to measure out the mounting holes on the video card on to the heatsink. Drill two small holes on the video card and use some nuts/bolts to clamp it on. Very secure, safe, premament, and looks nice.

Edit; This post was supposed to go to another thread. I do not know why it posted here. Sorry for the inconvience.
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
I don't fully agree with this. Prime priority 10 just affects the CPU temperature. If you reach the critical point you crash. You may see the same effect with a speed controled fan.

If you know the temp limit for an specific overclock and you stay below it you will be stable.

...and I don't necessarily agree with that. If you know me, you know of the legacy of work I've done, both on the air cooling and water cooling fronts. When my water cooling system holds my core temps in the 40-41C range running Prime95 torture Priority 10 and someone with an air cooled solution is running their Barton at 59C with air cooling and it is overclocking more than mine, there is a factor more than heat involved. I prefer to refer to it as "the luck of the draw".

Years ago, I wrote in the cooling forums, until I was blue in the face, about the relationship between die temperature and overclockability and I don't just mean cryogenic levels. Besides that critical relationship between die temperature and a particular overclock failure threshold, I have seen my share of overclocks that are either the reports of liars, contradictions to science, or as I have already said, "luck of the draw".

It's almost gotten to the point where I'm afraid to say anything is certain other than the fact that if you don't have the power turned on, it won't run. :)

Hoot
 

Noodles

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Location
Vermont, USA
I don't know about you guys, but I'd rather a system run stable and slightly slower than be able to boot to windows, run cpuz and crash myself. :D

I think all of these are pretty good OC's out of a chip rated for like 1.8ghz. You're essentially getting a 3200+ for somewhere around 1/4 of the cost. (factor in better cooling)
 

chasingapple

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Location
Las Vegas Nevada
You might have good luck at a local mom and pop type computer store, take a look at thier stock and see if they have one sitting around waiting to be overclocked :)
 

Hoot

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Location
Twin Cities
Interesting to note that while I was at MicroCenter this afternoon getting a PCMCIA wireless card ($9.95 AR !!!) I looked at the retail Barton 2500s they had in the showcase. They are up to week 45 now, locked of course.

Hoot