• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is this CPU and Engeneering Sample?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Celemine1Gig

Hi there,

I just bought an old intel P3 600 Slot1 Katmai CPU for cheap, to sell it on eBay for about twice the price :D (well I'm a poor little student and that's the easiest way to make money):D

Well, I didn't bother much about the CPU Code, because I didn't buy the CPU to overclock it(it's a Katmai, so what's overclocking:D).

Well, but the guy, I bought the CPU from, told me the Code on the CPU was:

QD63ES/80525PZ600512

So is this CPU an Engeneering Sample! And if yes, what would you do with it???

Options:

1)Well I could either keep it and test the FSB on my BX-System with it

2)or I could sel it for more than the "normal" price(perhaps three times the price that I paid), but that's rather utopian.

3)I could write Intel about it, and hope that I could trade that CPU for a better Non-ES-one! Perhaps a new cD0-stepping Coppermine P3 with 133 MHz FSB which can be used for FSB testing on both of my systems.

What would you do?

Thx in advance

Regards

Ingo;)

yep the ES in QD63ES stands for engineering sample.
i would get rid of it until i at least had a chance to test the puppy out. they're not necessarily better at overclocking, but the ability to lower the multiplier means you can usually get some wicked FSB rates.

Celemine1Gig said:

3)I could write Intel about it, and hope that I could trade that CPU for a better Non-ES-one! Perhaps a new cD0-stepping Coppermine P3 with 133 MHz FSB which can be used for FSB testing on both of my systems.

What would you do?

Thx in advance

Regards

Ingo;)

The CPU is the property of Intel, thats all I'm going to say about that.