• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Is this normal?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

joe

Registered
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
hi again, i have a geforce 2 64mb gts that made from leadtek and i was wondering if its normal for some games raither most of the games to get like high fps then drop to low fps like for cs at max res i get 72fps and once in a while it drops to 7.5. well if its not and the card is faulty then i get to get a new card :) if so then it sucks big time. thanx for the input guys.
 
OP
J

joe

Registered
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
the res is 1280 by 960 but the fps drop is also in other games like diablo2 and quake 3. so if its not normal to vary that much then would my card be faulty? or is it just a piece crap?
 

Pinky

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Las Vegas, NV
joe (Jul 10, 2001 02:28 p.m.):
the res is 1280 by 960 but the fps drop is also in other games like diablo2 and quake 3. so if its not normal to vary that much then would my card be faulty? or is it just a piece crap?

Based on the lack of response I would say your card's probably defective. That sort of drop can't be anything else.
 
OP
J

joe

Registered
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
i hope its defected so then i can get a newone :) hehe but if theres a problem that is eating some cpu cycles then i dunno what to do but i dont have any programs open thats big enough to do that. well thanx for the input guys im gonna go take it in and have it tested for a fairly decent price that wont kill my wallet that bad. i really appreciate everyone's input thanx again.
 

dozier768

Member
Joined
May 9, 2001
Location
portland,or
well, also cs has a frame limit cap of 100, and its defaulted to 72fps in your config.cfg located in your cstrike directory just change it to 100 and it will fix the 72 fps cap. you should also have the latest drivers for your chip set if you have a via chip set they can be found here if you have an intel chipset i dont know i dont like intel. u also might check to see if you have any irq sharing going on