• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

it all comes down to this.....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

n2

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
NY
please help me decide, they cost the same...

Powercolor GeForce2 MX 32mb AGP
or
ATI Rage Fury Pro 32mb AGP

both are retail, and i need for Win_Me and Duron Proc....
probably gonna be a Via Chipset, lest i get lucky and find a AMD cs.
please give me your input !!
 
OP
n2

n2

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
NY
thanks Jeff,
one thing i noticed is the ATI has in&outs for tv, whereas MX has only out.

are there any negative issues to ATI and Win_Me?
 

proze

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
Pretoria, RSA
do you really need the vivo the ati offers? the mx is a faster card, and will get drivers updates ad nauseum... there isn't really a choice to be made, unless you're only going to watch dvds and not play games.
 
OP
n2

n2

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
NY
well, i'm just getting into gaming really....
as far as DVD, i have a drive, tho i have'nt taken it out of the box.
had it bout 2 mos. now.

would you expect the MX to suck as far as DVD?
i really am beginning to love this vid card, i don't think ATI will compare.

since i bought a 17'' monitor yesterday, and i have 85hz refresh at 1024x768x32 the card actually seems to be unleashed. at this point, i'm pretty happy. now i just gotta determine optimum settings.
 

jeff_harrison_344

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Good choice to stick with the MX, and no, the difference between if you would have chosen the ATI card rather than the MX in DVD, will not even be noticable at all.
 

UnseenMenace

UnseenModerator
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
I would choose the MX as i have a Gforce card (not a MX though) modified and cant speak highly enough of it

Duron 800 @ 1050 with Global Win FOP-32 (140 x 7.5)
( CPU @ 36 c loaded .. System @ 25 c Loaded )
Abit KT7A-Raid Mobo
512 mb (133 mhz Crucial Stuff)
Elsa Gforce with Blue Orb (modified to display as a Quadro and overclocked http://www.tweakhardware.com/guide/quadro/ )
Sound Blaster Live
Hard Drive Cooler
Full Tower with 5 (120 mm) case fans with seperate PSU
 

UnseenMenace

UnseenModerator
Joined
Apr 23, 2001
Modifying the Gforce so that it displays as a Quadro may help the quality in DVD if it a concern, although mine is modified im yet to try it on DVD

Duron 800 @ 1050 with Global Win FOP-32 (140 x 7.5)
( CPU @ 36 c loaded .. System @ 25 c Loaded )
Abit KT7A-Raid Mobo
512 mb (133 mhz Crucial Stuff)
Elsa Gforce with Blue Orb (modified to display as a Quadro and overclocked http://www.tweakhardware.com/guide/quadro/ )
Sound Blaster Live
Hard Drive Cooler
Full Tower with 5 (120 mm) case fans with seperate PSU
 
OP
n2

n2

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
NY
cool, thanks for posting.
i am using the ATI card now, configuring the box for a customer.
i won't have the time to do any comparisons on DVD, but i totally agree that the GeForce is the way to go. i'm really not the least bit concerned as far as DVD, i'd really rather have gaming and overclock ability.
for all of us here, i think speed is the main factor... and since the GeForce has the ability to O/C on the fly, i consider that a MAJOR plus.
this ATI has'nt even got a fan, and it's a retail version. i'm really not impressed with it overall.

cant wait till i get a board for my Duron700....
any suggestions always welcome!
 

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Id so Go with a Radeon over a MX, you can get them for 70 bucks, they run better at 32 bit, and ATI has been releasing a ton of beta and official drivers for it.
AKDUDE
 
OP
n2

n2

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
NY
AKDUDE (May 07, 2001 12:35 p.m.):
Id so Go with a Radeon over a MX, you can get them for 70 bucks, they run better at 32 bit, and ATI has been releasing a ton of beta and official drivers for it.
AKDUDE

ok... the debate is to the two cards i have here...
ATI Rage Fury Pro Vs. Nvidia GeForce 2MX
both 32mb both AGP
both cost me $70. retail w/software bundled

as for Radeon series cards, i'd like a DDR w/64mb personally...
but they ain't no $70... and i don't have a need for it right now.
DVD been in the box for the two months i've had it, unopened.
no cable yet... i'm into hardcore hardware as opposed to hardcore gaming.
for now, anyways. i'm investing in a MoBo next. i do believe there's no question the MX i have blows away the ATI that i have.
same system, same Ram, proc, etc.. same game.
as far as radeon cards, i'll try one when i get a deal on a good one.
this budget is limited.
and as for drivers, ATI has one set for all cards... was there this morning..
i'm NOT impressed! Nvidia has like 2 dozen versions out there.
maybe i'm wrong... but hey, i never claimed to be right. i just wanna report what i see, honestly, IMHO

thank you for your post AKDUDE, i will give the radeon serious consideration when it comes time to upgrade my MX
 
OP
n2

n2

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2001
Location
NY
ok..
suppose we compare VooDoo 3 vs. GeForce 2MX

i had a VooDoo 5500 64mb AGP but at the time... no support for Win_ME
tho i think thats changed now.... but i know the 3000 has suport.

actually, with the 5500 around $90 last i looked, that is one hell of a card for that price... *definitely* worth considering.

but how does the voodoo3 stack up?

i'm really enjoying this thread, thanks!
 

jeff_harrison_344

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
To tell yah the truth I really would go with the 5500 WAY more then the 3000 (V3)

1. FSAA- The FSAA is amazing on the 5500, and there is none on the 3000.

2. 32bit colour - I dont think I have to explain this one, but the V5 supports 32bit and the V3 doesnt.

3. Faster - This is obvious, that the Voodoo5 is a lot faster then the V3.

4. Doesnt run as hot! - The Voodoo3 runs like a hot b*tch!

There ya go!