• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

It's been a while, finally building a new comp

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SomeEngineerGuy

Hello everyone,
this is my first time posting. It's been about 10 years since I built my last computer, and I haven't been caught up with the latest technology. I'm looking to build a budget PC for about $600-750, and I need a CPU for about $100, no more than 150.

I will be using the computer to run AutoCAD, Civil 3D, STAAD, and some light gaming. I'm not expecting to work on huge files completely smoothly, or run the latest games on the highest graphics possible, but I would appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction. I'm not looking to overclock.

I was looking at the AMD FX-6100 Zambezi 6 core, AMD FX-4300 Vishera Quad Core, and the Intel Core i3-2120 Sandy Bridge Dual Core... Or something else for under 150? What would your expert recommendations be?

Also, I suppose I don't need a fancy motherboard since I will not be overclocking...

The graphic card I could probably spend $150 on, I will get a Samsung 840 pro, and I'm guessing I will need about 8 gigs of RAM.

Could someone please help me put together a good build for this price? Oh, and I will be running Windows 8 Pro since I have an extra copy laying around.

Ignore one's you've already answered:

Hey, welcome to OCF! :beer:

When trying to recommend a build to you, there's some information that's extremely helpful for us to know. If you could answer these few short questions, we'd be happy to help!

• What are you planning to do with this compuer? Please be as specfic as possible.
  • What is your budget?
    1. Does this include a copy of Windows?
    2. Does this include peripheals (a keyboard, monitor, mouse, speakers, etc.)?