• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Iwill vs. Abit

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

got_yogurt

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2001
I think both are really good boards, I'd just pick the one you prefer, or the one that is cheaper, or the one you can get your hands on the cheapest. Both are pretty decked out. I would probably go with Iwill, just because I've never had one of their boards and I'd like to knoow what they're like.
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
Commited (Mar 03, 2001 05:10 a.m.):
Which is better:
The Iwill 266 or the Abit KT7A(non-raid)?

I have used ABIt BX board before, and though they push the envelope wrt o/cing, they always had some quirks. Sometimes the ATA controller was a mess, sometimes the controller would steal irqs which made the system instable, and sometimes one could not use all RAM slots.

The Iwill does not exhibit any such quirks, and it is rock stable at higher bus speeds. I have an issue with the bios, but only after really pushing it, and I should have a replacement soon - good customer service too.

Yo
 

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Way to go Yo- Standin' up in the face of overwhelming public opinion. The man stepped up to the counter and said Iwill please.

For all you abit owners this post is not a put down, I just think that doing your own thing should be applauded.
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
seabhac (Mar 03, 2001 04:32 p.m.):
Way to go Yo- Standin' up in the face of overwhelming public opinion. The man stepped up to the counter and said Iwill please.

For all you abit owners this post is not a put down, I just think that doing your own thing should be applauded.

Sure, it's not a put down. ABit boards are good, but I think the Iwill has the edge wrt pergformance right now.

How's that 1GHz system coming along?

Yo
 

Da Whip

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Location
Sunny Florida, you can keep the midwest!!
I finally went the Iwill KK266-R after reading 6 or so reviews. I also listened to what was being posted on the forum and it seemed that the Abit had problems w/ everything short of the weather.
This was not meant as a slam on ABiters (get it! ) if you have the time and patience have at it.
 

noluck

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
any clue when new bios will be out for abit? my bro said that there should be a good update soon to fix problems... maybe they already updated it... did they?
 

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
I believe that there is a new updated BIOS available. Check the front page of O/C.com.

I too am getting the IWILL KK266 board when I build my system in the next few weeks.

Check the Iwill homepage too; in addition to updates there is a forum where you can get help if you run into any probs.

Amiel
 

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Yo (Mar 03, 2001 05:22 p.m.):
seabhac (Mar 03, 2001 04:32 p.m.):
Way to go Yo- Standin' up in the face of overwhelming public opinion. The man stepped up to the counter and said Iwill please.

For all you abit owners this post is not a put down, I just think that doing your own thing should be applauded.
Yo- Still waiting on the Mobo and the RAM. I haven't even ordered the CPU yet but I should have the scratch in a week or two. Hows that PAL working for you?

Sure, it's not a put down. ABit boards are good, but I think the Iwill has the edge wrt pergformance right now.

How's that 1GHz system coming along?

Yo
 

diehrd

Senior SMP Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
NY
Currently I would go ABIT,I have ordered the 1.2 266fsb processor and the Iwill and the MSi both are unable to post this processor at 133fsb,Untill thay can asus or abit are the 2 boards in my list as go to boards,Consider AMD and future processors higher than 1.2,If IWILL and MSI cant post now dont chance them on future chip upgrades beyond 1.1 !!!!!
 

fallout55

Registered
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
I'm courious as to where you heard that the Iwill won't post a 266fsb 1.2 Tbird? I bought one just to use with a 266 fsb 1.2 Tbird. I thought all the problems were with people trying to get the 200 fsb 1.2 Tbirds to run at 266.
 

diehrd

Senior SMP Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
NY
There was a link in here that reveiled the IWILL boot problem.In all fairness it stated the MSI K7T-TURBO also is unable to boot the AMD 1.2 266fsb/factory unlocked processor.The test went on to say IWILL is aware of the problem and feels it is an AMD problem not there board!!!I will look for the article but it was very clear and actually rated the IWILL at 9 or more and would have given a 10 if not for the boot problem.
I was told by MSI if the problem exixts to set fsb to 100 LMFAO,what a fix underclock my 266 fsb chip and motherboard.So good luck I also ordered 1.2/266
after I returned the MSI iI went with ABIT !!
 

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
diehrd (Mar 08, 2001 10:15 p.m.):
There was a link in here that reveiled the IWILL boot problem.In all fairness it stated the MSI K7T-TURBO also is unable to boot the AMD 1.2 266fsb/factory unlocked processor.The test went on to say IWILL is aware of the problem and feels it is an AMD problem not there board!!!I will look for the article but it was very clear and actually rated the IWILL at 9 or more and would have given a 10 if not for the boot problem.
I was told by MSI if the problem exixts to set fsb to 100 LMFAO,what a fix underclock my 266 fsb chip and motherboard.So good luck I also ordered 1.2/266
after I returned the MSI iI went with ABIT !!

I'd be interested in seeing that link. I am getting ready to order my cpu and there is only $17 price difference between 1.1. and 1.2 200...
 

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Kinda makes one wonder if there isn't something different about the factory unlocked 1.2's I mean if the bridges are just not cut on them they should perform the same right? Unless there is something different about the newer unlocked chips. Well I think I will go with the 1.1 I would like to do an overclock I don't plan on pushing the envelope here. Stability is my first priority.
 

fallout55

Registered
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
That article has them trying to set a factory unlocked 1.2 g 200 fsb chip at 266fsb. I'm planning on getting a 266 fsb Tbird because I have seen all but asus reporting problems. The asus has multiplier settings on the motherboard itself instead of in the bios. I'm thinking of trying abit myself just because they are out of the Iwill where I'm trying to RMA it but they have the KT7A. I wonder what the KT7A's vcore settings are as far as actual voltage? My Iwill is an actual 1.91 when set to default or 1.85. Sure helps my duron get some extra mhz.
 

FunkyTechnician

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2001
Location
Baltimore
I have also read many reviews and discussions of IWill KK266 boards version 1.2 that have had problems booting up with the Athlon C / 266FSB chips (1ghz and above). It seems that the board remembers the last multiplier setting regardless of what it was changed to and will try to post with the previous setting..

I'm still planning on getting the IWIll because I like everything that it has to offer but I hope this is something that can be fixed through a bios update which some speculate has just happened with the recent March 5 bios update. It seemed to be a hardware problem to me but I don't own the board yet and can't say what will or won't work.

Supposedly, Iwill knows about this problem and hence the last update in the bios was released.

Amiel
 

diehrd

Senior SMP Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2001
Location
NY
Well I just put my 1.2 /266fsb processor in my abit and all is sweat as candy!!!I am currently at 27c idle and 37 c full load in a burn test,So after a few days I will get my new pc150 cas2 512 meg ram and will then see were I can clock to.For all the IWILL and MSI people I hope your boards will work with the processor I am using, If not follow the suggestions from MSI and lower your fsb to 100 LMFAO.