• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Just found some old drives lying around what should i do with them?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zerileous

Well we were cleaing out the junk room and i found some old drives (a CDROM and a HDD) lying round no clue where they came from. They are all HP branded. All this stuff is SCSI. The CDROM is a Toshiba XM-4101B which google reveals to be 2x. Then there is an ISA adaptec SCSI controller that has an internal and an external port (i dont know if both will run at once or anything. There is a 2.1 gig HDD and Googleing a model number reveals that this is a Segate Baricuda useing "50 pin narrow" (im a scsi noob so bear with me) and the other connections on CDROM and HDD are the same size. There is also something about scsi 2 mentioned in googlig the HDD. Its a 5400 RPM which is nice for the era. How hard would it be to get a cable for these devices? I actually have a use for them, i could use the CD rom to get a lil server going (Celeron II 333mhz, everthing but CDROM is there) and i could take the IDE drive from it for a second drive on my main rig (dont know what id do with it other than more space for something like dedicated music since im limited to 8 GB because im a HS student with no job.

Capsul summary: