• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

k6-2-damn i hate thee

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Blackearth

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
...alabama
due to circumstances beyond my control, it will be at least 2 more months before i will have the money for my dream machine (hey, i'm sixteen and working at cvs, cut me some slack). i was wondering if it is possible to overclock my (actually me brothers computer-fat bastard) k6-2 450 by 100mhz or more. another thing is i have no idea what kind of motherboard i have. there are no markings whatsoever on it, and my brother lost the documentation at least a year ago and has no idea.
 

organicker

Registered
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
I have a K6-2 450 (AFX core, 2.2v) that will reach 550 (@2.4v). Just change the multiplier, and, if necessary, jack up the voltage. If possible, you should also try to raise the fsb. All of this is dependent on you identifying and finding the jumper settings for your mobo. Are there any markings on the mobo itself? Numbers? Letters?

organicker
 

Bovon

Registered
Joined
Mar 10, 2001
WOW...100mhz on a K6-2 450?...Looks like AMD is holding true to form. Some of the recent socket A Athlons and Durons O/C better than others...some by a heckova lot, out of the same batch. I have a K6-2 500, and the best I could do was 550, and my FIC VA 503+ board supports up to 124 mhz fsb, and 5.5 multipliers...

Good for you...
 

wildone

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2001
Location
TN
hey download sisoft sandra and it should tell you what kind of mainboard you have and then the documentation should't be to hard to find,just click mainboard information in Sandra and hopefully it will tell you somethin ,hope this helps
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
To be honest, you'll be real lucky to get an additional 50MHz out of it. These are not real good chips for oc'ing. Also, without knowing what mobo you have, you have a hard time finding what settings and jumpers you ban change.
 
OP
Blackearth

Blackearth

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
...alabama
yeah, alright, thanks guys. . . .i'm going to cry out of sheer joy if i can get it up to 550-maybe not cry, but i will be happy.