• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Kingston V series SSD replacing notebook 5,400 rpm feasible?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

aoch88

Hey guys, I have an X25-M running on my desktop and it's blazing fast but the Kingston V series is a lot slower. I'm not sure how bad it is as I've never tried i before but I'm thinking of replacing my notebook 5,400rpm hard disk with it. Do you guys think it'll make a difference in terms of boot up and normal usage? I can't really find a review comparing this V series SSD with a normal 5,400rpm drive so I have no idea :(

Someone please help?

Mr Alpha

The Kingston V Series uses the JMicron controller so it will probably suffer from the same stuttering problems that JMicron is famous for.

Know Nuttin

The only V series to consider is the 40GB model which uses an Intel controller.
I have used the regular V series and it is decent but not recommended at the price they are charging for it.

BossBorot

I have a 40gb V series, the only one with the intel controller, in my netbook. The only way the 40gb is slow is in seq writes but unless you write tons of large files to a tiny 40gb drive it will be a massive upgrade.

OP
aoch88

aoch88

Stuttering? I don't seem to have that in my X25-M G2 though? The 64GB is relatively cheap compared to Intel X25-M so that's why I'm considering it. I don't need a lot of space but just the speed increase :)

BossBorot