• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

KK266 Out Standing My first try Thanks to ALL YOU!!!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

goman

Registered
Joined
Feb 8, 2001
Location
Ohio
Well I did it . My first real overclock and it was so easy, THANKS TO YOU GUYS. I Received my stuff Mon. Morning (26th ) spent an Hour or so lapping the FOP38 ( like a mirror ) Got out the Magnifying glass and the rear defogger kit and closed those bridges, Installed my crap PC100 generic ram ( Crucial to be orderd tomorrow 133 cl2 ) Reloaded windows from scratch 98se, loaded drivers for board then the rest of my stuff one at a time.
Ran my 750 T bird stock for little bit the started upping the FSB 7.5 X112 840 not bad so I raised my multiplier up to 8 now running at 8X112 = 896 thought I would let it play there for a while till my ram gets here and then start to play with the FSB some more.

Well All I realy wanted to post was a VERY BIG THANK TO ALL OF YOU HERE AT THE OVERCLOCKERS FORUM !!!!!!!!!!!
If any of you have any more suggestions I would kindly take them with pride and thanks.
 

seabhac

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
You might want to check out some of the posts in General Hardware before you order that Crucial CL2. Make sure it is really CL2 and not just being passed off as such. CAS Latency 133 Pricing and good infoIt won't perform well above 133 and your mobo can go much higher.

Glad to hear this has gone so smoothly for you. I ordered my Iwill KK266 last week and expect delivery any day now. I'm glad I listened to Joe's advice even though some suggested Abit.
 

Monza

Registered
Joined
Feb 17, 2001
yo dudes, u guys dont fret, it does 1/4 pci 120mhz fsb and up. thats a via thing, all boards r like that. the iwill is a good 1, i ordered it, but the dealer was out, so i got an asus. but i'm impressed. congrats my OC brother. good to have u aboard. slap a vantec hs on her though, their mint. never have seen 40c no matter what i throw at it
(and guess what, dont believe sandra when she tells u ur bus spds 4 agp and pci r too high, she doesnt understand kt133a, though u'd like that)

good luck,
monza

[email protected] (7.5x133)
asus a7v133
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
seabhac (Feb 28, 2001 12:59 p.m.):
You might want to check out some of the posts in General Hardware before you order that Crucial CL2. Make sure it is really CL2 and not just being passed off as such. CAS Latency 133 Pricing and good infoIt won't perform well above 133 and your mobo can go much higher.

....

What's the problem ? I am running two pieces of Crucial PC 128 CAS 2, and they both make it into the 150s at CAS 2 and Turbo (fastest) setting. Memory scores in Sandra are 630/690.

I know the board is not explicitely listed by Crucial, probably because the table needs updating, but it's the same as for my ASUS CUSL - just generic Crucial PC133 7ns RAM.

Yo
 

Yomama

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
The battle born State
goman (Feb 28, 2001 12:11 a.m.):
Well I did it . My first real overclock and it was so easy, THANKS TO YOU GUYS. I Received my stuff Mon. Morning (26th ) spent an Hour or so lapping the FOP38 ( like a mirror ) Got out the Magnifying glass and the rear defogger kit and closed those bridges, Installed my crap PC100 generic ram ( Crucial to be orderd tomorrow 133 cl2 ) Reloaded windows from scratch 98se, loaded drivers for board then the rest of my stuff one at a time.
Ran my 750 T bird stock for little bit the started upping the FSB 7.5 X112 840 not bad so I raised my multiplier up to 8 now running at 8X112 = 896 thought I would let it play there for a while till my ram gets here and then start to play with the FSB some more.

Well All I realy wanted to post was a VERY BIG THANK TO ALL OF YOU HERE AT THE OVERCLOCKERS FORUM !!!!!!!!!!!
If any of you have any more suggestions I would kindly take them with pride and thanks.

Congratulations - good job for a firsttimer. Now you can try to establish your maximum memory throughput by lowering the multiplier (e.g. to 6) and upping the FSB until the system poops out. I bet you can get around 120 to 125. Then readjust multiplier and FSB to your max cpu speed, and voila you have an even faster system.

Yo