• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

KR7A-Raid CPU Fan voltage header

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

chasingapple

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Location
Las Vegas Nevada
Hey all, just upgraded to an Athlon XP 1800+ and KR7A-Raid motherboard. I need to know what the voltage header is rated at on the thing. I have a Vantec FCE-6254OD HSF and it has a 7,000rpm Delta on it....I would like to have it plugged into the Mobo so I can moniter the RPM's and have the ability for the system to shut down the computer if it detects the Fan failing. Right now I have it hooked up through a 4-Pin to the powersupply.

Can it take it?

Thanks everyone in advance!
 

Kendan

Senior Punk
Joined
Aug 27, 2001
Location
Dark side of hell
I am not sure if it can take it but you might want to check at Paul's . My advise is to get a 3 to 4 pin adapter with an rpm wire or you can make one yourself.
 

repo man11

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
When I went to an 80mm CPU fan, it came with the 3 pin connector, and a 3 to molex connector adaptor. I didn't want to take chance, so I took the 3 pin connector off of my old CPU fan, (take something like a very small screwdriver, press down on the metal part in the little slits, and press down and pull out on the wire. They'll come right out.) I unplugged the sensor wire, plugged it into the 3 pin connector, and plugged that into the motherboard header. Fan speed, and no burning out the motherboard header.
 
OP
chasingapple

chasingapple

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Location
Las Vegas Nevada
Ok, does anyone know if it will support the voltage or not? I do not want to mod it and I really need to know the exact spec...

Thanks for the reply's though =)
 

Kendan

Senior Punk
Joined
Aug 27, 2001
Location
Dark side of hell
Like I stated in my first post go to Paul's. I am sure the answer is there. or you could read your manual. I know it is in there. and once you find out what it can support, then find out the specs on your fan. Be sure to have some leeway in between those two. Good luck.:D
 

Sonny

Senior TIFOSI
Joined
Aug 3, 2001
Location
VARIANTE ASCARI
0.5A on all the Fan Headers combined. What's really just as important is your fan is rating at & saying it's 7Krpm doesnt say much. Everybody here has suggested to modify the current fans plug so that you may still use the RPM monitor. There are really 2 reasons for this;

1. So that there is no chance for you to burn out the headers,

2. Minimize the current load on the MoBo.

What's cheaper, replacing a MoBo or losing the waranty on the fan?
 
OP
chasingapple

chasingapple

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Location
Las Vegas Nevada
It is a Vantec FCE-6254OD with a 7,000rpm Delta on it. I guess I could try the mod to get it on the motherboard, will the MOBO stop the CPU that way if it detects the CPU stopping?

Thanks guys!
 

Sonny

Senior TIFOSI
Joined
Aug 3, 2001
Location
VARIANTE ASCARI
chasingapple said:
It is a Vantec FCE-6254OD with a 7,000rpm Delta on it. I guess I could try the mod to get it on the motherboard, will the MOBO stop the CPU that way if it detects the CPU stopping?

What is the rating of the fan, voltage/amps/watts? If you do the fan mod properly the RPM signal will still be read by the Fan Header/BIOS so if there is a failure it will shutdown.