• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

KT3 Ultra2 bootup problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Benolan

Registered
I'm building a computer for my dad, and last night put it all together and started it up for the first time. It ran for about 3 seconds, then promptly made one beep/buzz and shut down. It does that about everytime. I'm fairly new to hardware/building and am not sure what to make of it.

Here's the setup:
PSU :330W Antec Truepower
MB: MSI KT3 Ultra2
Mem: Kingston PC2700 256MB
CPU: AMD 2000+
HS: Volcano 7+ w/ AS3
VID: GeForce3 TI 200 64MB

Something I remembered after getting to work was that I read once that the motherboard had issues posting with Kingston memory, and was wondering if that was consistant with the boot problem I had. Or if thatwas even still valid.

Thanks

Last edited:
Check to see if the heatsink is installed correctly and the cpu fan is hooked up to the cpu header on the MB. (If your fan has 2 3 pin connectors, make sure the one with ONE wire is attached to the header and the other one with TWO wires is hooked up with an adapter to the power supply leads)

If the HS is not on right then the auto shutoff feature may be turning it off if your CPU is getting a little too warm.

(One short beep usually means it posted ok)

Al

Last edited:
That's what I had forgot to add in.. the heatsink is a Volcano 7+ .. and yeah, I think it did have 2 sets of wires. I'll have to check that. Thanks :D

Benolan said:
That's what I had forgot to add in.. the heatsink is a Volcano 7+ .. and yeah, I think it did have 2 sets of wires. I'll have to check that. Thanks :D

No Prob.

Some boards bios will shut down the machine if it does not detect any rpms from the cpu fan.

Al