• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Lapping - is it the way ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

UnseenMenace

UnseenModerator
As most of you know, I am quite new to overclocking but have a knowledge that is ever expanding.. When researching my system, I was not aware of lapping a heatsink and thus built my system without doing so. Today however I built a PC for a friend and obtained the same heatsink as mine. I recalled a article on the front of overclockers.com which suggested that excessive lapping could actually hinder the heat transfer. I believe the article was concerning machining materials to precise measurements as well. I also read the Lapping Tips section and then attempted this task.
In the Lapping tips, it mentions rubbing grinding paste between the CPU and heatsink as an alternative to lapping.. so this is what I did to one heatsink and I lapped the other (lapped down to 600 paper).
To obtain a reasonably accurate result, I checked the room temp and fitted both FOP-32's to the same PC using the same clip and fan, while this is not scientific research as there may be manufacturing differences between the heatsinks, or between the amount of Artic Silver I used to assemble them each time..perhaps it suggests something.. but heres the temps reached after running the burn in on SI-Sandra for 30 mins

FOP32- Normal CPU @ 52 c | SYSTEM @ 27 c
(both FOP made same same temps at standard)

FOP32- Lapped CPU @ 48 c | SYSTEM @ 26 c

FOP32- Ground CPU @ 46 c | SYSTEM @ 26 c

I did it for myself out of interest, however I would be interested to know all your opinions