• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Lesson I learned about ocing and cpu temp

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jlin453

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
What I learned: the Tt Volcano 7+ just doesn't cut it for OCing. At the lowest speed setting, even though the full load cpu temp was about 45-46C, I started getting errors in prime95 which didnt appear when I had the 7+ set on the medium speed setting. Even though the temperature is "only" off by 4-5C (from lowest to highest), it's worth the 5 fsb. Quiet as it may be on the low setting, overclocking just sucks :)

I'll probably be upgrading to a sk7 and Tt smart fan 2 in the future. I'll be able to adjust the smart fan 2 to quiet levels,yet still have the 75cfm available(where else the 7+ only had 49cfm w/the same dba level)
 

NeoMoses

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2001
why are you so sure that it's the heatsink? Those temps sound acceptable. On my first 8K3A+, I had a very similar problem. I was running my AX-7 with a delta68, so my temps were slightly lower than yours, but I would also get errors in Prime95 even when FSB was only 2 MHz out of spec. I could either run at 133, 134, or 166 FSB, no other. I RMA'ed the board, got another one, and it runs fine. You may be seeing something similar. It just doesn't sound like the heatsink to me.
 

spazzkid

Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2001
Location
Philippines
i agree with neomoses. maybe sumtimes it aint the cooler. i have a 7+ and it works well for me, considering that i live in a hotter place than you guys.
 
OP
jlin453

jlin453

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
Don't know. I'll look into it. Thanks guys


edit: Well, I ran prime w/my 7+ on the medium setting and everything went fine. I switched to the lowest setting and got an error within 5 minutes. Now that I switched back to the medium setting, no errors.
 
Last edited:

NeoMoses

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2001
this might be a good time for you to put a stock cooler on that chip and see if it's stable at default speeds. If not, I would send someone a nasty letter!
 
OP
jlin453

jlin453

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
NeoMoses said:
this might be a good time for you to put a stock cooler on that chip and see if it's stable at default speeds. If not, I would send someone a nasty letter!


It is stable at default speeds. (default=12.5*133). Right now, I'm at 11.5*150.