• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Linux install problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

retarded130

Registered
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
ok, I finally installed Vector Linux but it didn't recognize all of my hardware(specifically my onboard sound)
then when I configured LiLo to start from a boot disk it didn't work,
I formatted and created the boot disk from setup then I rebooted my computer to try it.

After about a minute the screen went blank and bunch of binary code started running down the screen non-stop!

what could of happened?
 
OP
R

retarded130

Registered
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
well if that's the case, then how can I access the Linuxos on my box?
I only configured it to run from the start disk I created?
 

XWRed1

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
You made a boot disk for it? What happens when you boot from that disk?
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
retarded130 said:
well if that's the case, then how can I access the Linuxos on my box?
I only configured it to run from the start disk I created?

I dont know if vector linux allows this, but with SuSE, when I boot off the CD and start manual installation it gives me the option of booting the installed system.

About the boot disk - is it a disk used to boot the installation program? Or did it say that it was for booting the system?
 
OP
R

retarded130

Registered
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
The boot disc I created was configured to boot the kernel found on my second hard-drive in hda2 I think.
anyway I don't have the cd, I downloaded vector linux and installed it from one hard-drive to the other usind a dos command prompt at start-up( I basically booted into dos and then ran the installation batch file from my c-drive)
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
retarded130 said:
The boot disc I created was configured to boot the kernel found on my second hard-drive in hda2 I think.
anyway I don't have the cd, I downloaded vector linux and installed it from one hard-drive to the other usind a dos command prompt at start-up( I basically booted into dos and then ran the installation batch file from my c-drive)

If you know someone with a CDRW, or if you have a CDRW, booting off the CD is easier.
 
OP
R

retarded130

Registered
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
ok thanks I'll try that, think I'm going to go with just mandrake for now then when I have the time, buy the new gamming version and recompile the kernel to meet my needs
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
retarded130 said:
recompile the kernel to meet my needs

Don't waste time mucking about with recompiling kernels unless you really need to. If there is a new kernel with a must-have feature, or some item of hardware will not work otherwise then fine. Often, you can get away with setting up needed features as modules in the kernel config and just compile the needed modules. This saves time, and in many cases a lot of anguish.
 
OP
R

retarded130

Registered
Joined
Feb 17, 2002
Actually I want to learn how to re-compile a Kernel myself.
Want to do it as a project by myself with mayby some help from my friends who are into programming.
Once I get linux installed on my machine I'm going to make another Partition on my Hd and try to eventually create my own linux distro in my spare time on that partition.
I just want to do it once to really have an idea of how the Linux kernel works in and out.