• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED lockups even with sub zero temps?!?!!?!?!?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
M

mike

Guest
why the heck am i getting lock ups and blue screens during games and seti with my cely 566 at 1ghz with water cooling and peltier the temps are down to - 50 F up to -10 F???? whats going on
 

Big Mike

Senior Head of Import Performance
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
Sounds like you've hit the wall, super cooling can only make your chip go so much faster, and it sounds like your chip doesnt want to go any faster.
 

h20

Registered
Joined
Apr 24, 2001
I don't believe temps are the reason for the lockup. Could be improper BIOS settings, for peripherals, or CAS settings for RAM.

my setup:
celeron 566 @ 952; core voltage 1.50 @ 2.0; 128 ram, pc100; elsa 16mb video; alpha pep66, modified and lapped with 72 watt peltier and delta fan (can't hear you; speak up).
[img="http://"]
 
OP
M

mike

Guest
what about cas settings. i have an old 64mb pc100 dimm. should i have the cas at 3 or 2
thanks

h20 (Apr 26, 2001 09:20 a.m.):
I don't believe temps are the reason for the lockup. Could be improper BIOS settings, for peripherals, or CAS settings for RAM.

my setup:
celeron 566 @ 952; core voltage 1.50 @ 2.0; 128 ram, pc100; elsa 16mb video; alpha pep66, modified and lapped with 72 watt peltier and delta fan (can't hear you; speak up).
[img="http://"]
 

h20

Registered
Joined
Apr 24, 2001
mike (Apr 26, 2001 10:58 a.m.):
what about cas settings. i have an old 64mb pc100 dimm. should i have the cas at 3 or 2
thanks

h20 (Apr 26, 2001 09:20 a.m.):
I don't believe temps are the reason for the lockup. Could be improper BIOS settings, for peripherals, or CAS settings for RAM.

my setup:
celeron 566 @ 952; core voltage 1.50 @ 2.0; 128 ram, pc100; elsa 16mb video; alpha pep66, modified and lapped with 72 watt peltier and delta fan (can't hear you; speak up).
[img="http://"]

[img="http://"]Try using it with cas 2 first; then 3 if you need stability. Next try IO voltage of about 3.60 or 3.70 (if default is 3.50). Set PCI clock to 1/2 and AGP clock to 2/3. In addition, carefully add voltage to your cpu (for instance, increase from 1.80 to 1.85 - be very careful here; less is definitely more; dont go crazy in increasing voltage)

If temps are still too high, then take your trusty 12 gauge shotgun, load up with some rifled lead slugs, and put that puny assed cpu/comp out its misery.[img="http://"]
 
OP
M

mike

Guest
h20 (Apr 26, 2001 04:12 p.m.):
mike (Apr 26, 2001 10:58 a.m.):
what about cas settings. i have an old 64mb pc100 dimm. should i have the cas at 3 or 2
thanks

h20 (Apr 26, 2001 09:20 a.m.):
I don't believe temps are the reason for the lockup. Could be improper BIOS settings, for peripherals, or CAS settings for RAM.

my setup:
celeron 566 @ 952; core voltage 1.50 @ 2.0; 128 ram, pc100; elsa 16mb video; alpha pep66, modified and lapped with 72 watt peltier and delta fan (can't hear you; speak up).
[img="http://"]

[img="http://"]Try using it with cas 2 first; then 3 if you need stability. Next try IO voltage of about 3.60 or 3.70 (if default is 3.50). Set PCI clock to 1/2 and AGP clock to 2/3. In addition, carefully add voltage to your cpu (for instance, increase from 1.80 to 1.85 - be very careful here; less is definitely more; dont go crazy in increasing voltage)

If temps are still too high, then take your trusty 12 gauge shotgun, load up with some rifled lead slugs, and put that puny assed cpu/comp out its misery.[img="http://"]

do you know if i can change these settings with a via apollo pro133 bios on a soyo sy-6vba133 mobo. i looked for io voltage, no luck, and the pci and agp clock change by themselves depending on the fsb. i tried both cas 2 and 3 and they both work, but both have same problems. i could try to up the voltage. right now its at 1.9. also what do you mean "less is definitly more" concering voltage? i'm begging to think the shotgun idea it the way to go.
 

h20

Registered
Joined
Apr 24, 2001
If your default voltage on your cpu is 1.50 (cbo setting), then you should not consider going above 2.00. I have a cbo and I am nervous with 2.00volts.

I have the ABIT BE6 II motherboard which allows me to set the fsb from bios, as well as other settings; not sure about yours. If your temp readings are accurate, then temperature is definitely not, in my humble opinion, the reason for your lock ups. Scan disk, check system files and run some diagnostic on your ram memory. gl.