• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Looking for a good deal on an A64 3000+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sandman001

Just Freeze It
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Tried Froogle and say Newegg was about the cheapest there was....

Also, does anyone know how long the warranty from newegg is on an OEM processor?
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
oem cpu should be 1 year.

newegg went down to 215 today. getting cheaper :D
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
sandman001 said:
1 year, so retail is like 3 years then?

Man, I want this so bad. ;)
yes. and so do i :D

however. i did find out on xtremesystems that the NF3 150 chipset does NOT have pci locks :( so i'm not sure what i'm going to do.
 
OP
S

sandman001

Just Freeze It
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Yea, I was watching that thread. Neither does the Via chipset though, I'd say either way you'll be fine unless you have phase change/TEC cooling as you won't be able to push it high enough to warrant it going out of spec too much.

Or if you want you can do like Kunaak said and get the PSI IDE card for your drives.
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
sandman001 said:
Yea, I was watching that thread. Neither does the Via chipset though, I'd say either way you'll be fine unless you have phase change/TEC cooling as you won't be able to push it high enough to warrant it going out of spec too much.

Or if you want you can do like Kunaak said and get the PSI IDE card for your drives.
i'm not worried about my hard drive. its the video card i'm worried about. i've got a 9800pro that doesn't like anything over 72mhz.

i was hoping to get to around 240fsb with a slk948u when they came out. that'd be 2.4ghz and tons of speed.
 
OP
S

sandman001

Just Freeze It
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Wow, that's a touchy video card.......at 240fsb you'd be running 80mhz AGP.
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
Shade00 said:
No, they agree it has locked AGP. Just no locked PCI. My board has an AGP speed option in the BIOS.
oh really... thats interesting.

that would fix my sensitive 9800pro situation.

now then.. raptor running on SATA... no locked pci = bad :(
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
sandman001 said:
Did you order the Via board then? If not I'd go NF3.
no i don't have the money for it atm.

i'm going to order a new case this weekend then the other parts probably the weekend after that.

and yes i decided to go for a Soltek NF3 150 board.