• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

looking for feedback for first water loop

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

straxxus

Registered
I've been building/overclocking PCs for a few years now, and have found myself at the point of needing to water cool. I'm running an fx-8350 at 4.7ghz and my aio simply cannot keep it under 65c running prime95. So I've been researching water cooling for a few months now while setting aside some funds for a loop. I wanted to see if what I picked out were good quality parts before I bought anything. So here's what I've picked out:
X2O 420 Single Bayres/Pump
EK-Supremacy MX CPU Waterblock AMD - Plexi
XSPC EX240 Crossflow Series Copper Dual-Fan Radiator
XSPC G1/4" to 7/16" ID, 5/8" OD Compression Fitting - Chrome Finish
PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Tubing - 7/16in. ID X 5/8in. OD - Bloodshed Red

:welcome: to OCFs.

First I'd like to ask if you're going to keep this as a CPU only loop or possibly add some GPU's down the line? If you're not ever adding GPUs, most end up doing so, than this setup is mine for a CPU only loop.

I would like to know what kind of case is this all going into. The EX240 is a nice rad but is fairly thin (35mm). If you're able to, I would look at some of the rads that are either 45mm, 60mm or even 80mm (monsta) just to have that extra elbow room if you're into high clocks, especially on an AMD.

Thanks for the reply! To answer your questions: I will most likely add a GPu to the loop at some point in the future. The case I have is a cougar challenger, which is rather limited in radiator space so I will be upgrading if the need arises. I didn't realize the rad was a thin rad, the pic got kinda squished on my phones display :p