• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

looking for new GPU. specific size and power connector requirements!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gsrcrxsi

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Location
Baltimore, MD
hello all.

I am looking for a new GPU, but having a hard time finding a card that will fit my strict size/power connector/performance options.

The issue:
-I can fit a full height card, but not any taller than the standard height. this is because of my case, Antec Fusion Remote. Any taller than the standard height, and I cannot close the lid of the case. a standard height card will be 1-2mm away from the case lid when closed
-this brings me to the second issue. even if the card is standard height, I run into problems because 99% of the cards out, have the power cable connections at the TOP of the card. well, i can't hook up that way with no clearance to the top panel. That is the situation that I am in right now. my card is standard height, but with top power connection, so i am forced to leave the case lid off.
-due to additional space constraints. the card cannot be longer than 10", preferably 1-2" shorter than that.

you can see space constraints here:
12.jpg

06.jpg


my current card:
9.9"x4.4" - it fits, but top cable connection prevents me from closing case.
14-150-686-06.jpg



Requirements:
-must be equal to or faster/more powerful than my current card (in my sig, 270x).
-must be shorter than 10"
-must not be taller than the standard height for a PCIe card (which i believe is 4.4")
-must have a power connection facing FORWARD, or STRAIGHT OUT (90*) from the PCB face.
-must not be wider than 2 PCI slots.

help me find my unicorn? I've seen some of the mini-ITX inspired cards in the nvidia 960 and 970 flavors, which are great for physical size, but have top power connections :(

the closest thing i could find was this sapphire R7 370 card, but from what i could find, it underperforms against my current 270x
HERE: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202152
 

Janus67

Benching Team Leader
Joined
May 29, 2005
Nano would get my vote as well, I believe that has the power setup that you are looking for.
 
OP
G

gsrcrxsi

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Location
Baltimore, MD
sorry. not looking to spend that much.

pretty marginal reviews too. artifacts, driver problems, overheating. i think they tried to cram too much into that small of a package.

i'd be perfect with gtx 960/970 level of performance.

I'm really considering this one Saphire R9 380: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202151

but i cant be sure it will fit, because they do not list a height! the one metric i need!
 

kyfire

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Location
Hills of Kentucky
sorry. not looking to spend that much.

pretty marginal reviews too. artifacts, driver problems, overheating. i think they tried to cram too much into that small of a package.

i'd be perfect with gtx 960/970 level of performance.

I'm really considering this one Saphire R9 380: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202151

but i cant be sure it will fit, because they do not list a height! the one metric i need!

From Sapphire's site....9.3 x 4.96 x 1.46 Dimension /Inch 237.35 x 126.15 x 37 Dimension /mm

SOURCE
 
OP
G

gsrcrxsi

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Location
Baltimore, MD
i think you're looking at the normal ATX formfactor card. what i linked is the ITX size card.

the sapphire page says it's 4.57" tall. 4.3mm taller than my current card.

i'm not sure i have that much available space :/
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
sorry. not looking to spend that much.

pretty marginal reviews too. artifacts, driver problems, overheating. i think they tried to cram too much into that small of a package.

i'd be perfect with gtx 960/970 level of performance.

I'm really considering this one Saphire R9 380: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202151

but i cant be sure it will fit, because they do not list a height! the one metric i need!
That is the other one I found in my post. :)

Its on the Sapphire website.....

Form Factor 2 Part Slot Occupied
6.7 x 4.57 x 1.46 Dimension /Inch
170 x 116.15 x 37 Dimension /mm

http://www.sapphiretech.com/productdetial.asp?pid=B67011FE-4BEC-427F-A7FE-C370A40F15BB&lang=eng

I guess that is too tall.


The Nano really isn't a bad card if left alone. Drivers have improved since release date 7 months ago..... but, that price...... :(
 
OP
G

gsrcrxsi

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Location
Baltimore, MD
nope. power port facing UP. wont fit with the lid closed.

- - - Updated - - -

considering this one too. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZFND0RM/ref=psdc_284822_t3_B00ZGL8EBK

i've had good luck with XFX (my current card mfg), and it's spec'd to 4.53". 9.21" long, which should give me enough space to plug in the wires. longer card will have better cooling too.

hmmmm
 
Last edited:
OP
G

gsrcrxsi

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Location
Baltimore, MD
yeah so i went for the XFX one.

hopefully it fits! if not i can return it to amazon. (amazon's return policy is WAYYYYY better than newegg)
 
OP
G

gsrcrxsi

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Location
Baltimore, MD
Got the card today. Good news and bad news.

Good News: It Fits!
Bad New: card is DOA.

Computer won't even POST with the 380 in, put the 270x back in and it boots up fine. Swapped them back and forth a few times, and never booted up with the 380. Tried both HDMI and DVI connections. Def seems to be something off with this card. Oh well. That's why I bought it from Amazon. They will cross ship me a new card for free, and I just have to send them the new card back within 30 days.
 

wingman99

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Did you plug in both power connectors? If you did sorry for the bad card, looks like Amazon was the way to go.
 
OP
G

gsrcrxsi

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Location
Baltimore, MD
So... Replacement card isn't working either.

Now I'm wondering if it's something wrong with my system, like some kind of incompatability with new hardware?

I thought all PCI-e stuff was pretty much universal? Is it possible that my motherboard is just too old for the new hardware? Even though a 270x works perfectly fine?

My 270x hooks up to my 46" Samsung TV via HDMI-HDMI cable. I tried hooking the 380 up the same way and also via a DVI-HDMI cable.

Once I get the rest of stuff for my new build I'll try the card in my system with the new mb and CPU (LGA1150 based system)
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Your bios on the board is at the latest version?

Does there happen to be a bios available at the card's website?
 
OP
G

gsrcrxsi

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Location
Baltimore, MD
Well as I suspected, the 380 card works fine in the new MB.

Not sure why it wouldn't work in the old board when the 270x worked fine in the old board.