• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

:mad: Crappy 2.4B from newegg :mad:

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

oops

damn it,
I just got one 2.4B from newegg to replace my [email protected], I was hoping to hit 3GHZ, so it would worth to replace the 2.547GHZ

And that's what happened,

first

It's definatly NOT that so called C1 stepping. Code SL6D7. Stepping ID in WCPUID is "4".

AND...

It cannot even run 2.8GHZ stable!!!!!!

Now I am running at 2780MHZ, and still testing see if it's stable!

NOTE here: I am not a newbie to OC, so I've tried everything execpt vmod.

I've tried fixed AGP and PCI clock, and also tried cpu ratio 1 : 1 and used slowest memory timming, and highest voltage ---- +15% for CPU, 2.7V for RAM. ALL USELESS!!!!

Another NOTE here: my mobo is Abit BD7II-Raid, 1x512MB Corsair Xtrm PC3200.

I am so now. Compare to that "I got a C1 step I think" guy 's [email protected] at 1.66v, my cpu is crap!

I'll contiune try. Maybe do a vmod later.

I just want you guys know, NOT all 2.4B can do that 3.1GHZ at 1.66v.

So don't get too excited when you see someone's 3.1GHZ

OP
oops

oops

update news,

I just did vmod, i did pin4 and 3. So the default voltage shows was 1.63V. Now it shows this 2.4B is a piece of crap. I added 15% voltage which is 1.89V now, the system keeps crashing on the way booting or after booted into windows. Finally it got into windows with 2.889GHZ now. Haven't really tested the stablity yet. The idle temp. is already 47*C for both CPU and mobo.

I am so bad luck

OP
oops

oops

just like i thought, it's not stable at all at 2.889GHZ with 1.89V. The PCmark crashed when running. Trying lower now.

residentevil2

Disabled
i wouldnt raise the voltage to much on the cpu or you wont even see the day of 2.7 anymore. remember the p4 die from high voltage.