• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Mad SL6WK

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

musk

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Its a gooder!
SL6WK Q401A Malay
Pack: 03/08/04

255mhz FSB stock vcore
Primed for 14 hours.

Going for 4!

musk

P4C800-E droop modded
2x256 OCZ 4000 Au
SLK900U
 
Last edited:

jpm804

Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2004
Good to see another statisifed customer with a SL6WK chip... :attn:

What vcore are you currently running right now? Also what kinda temps are you seeing ?

Sorry for all the questions..just curious....
 
OP
musk

musk

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
I am seeing 1.50vcore in CPUZ (default in BIOS)
My temp is 46c load with a tornado running about half speed.
It primed overnight at 260*15 = 3900mhz
Upped it to 265 this am - hopefully still going, will report when I get home from work
I got it from www.ncix.com
1:1 ratio
 
OP
musk

musk

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Yes, under full load. I have done the droop mod but it seems to do strange things.
With the bios vcore on default(1.525), it fluctuates between 1.488 and 1.5v but if I set the bios manually to 1.550 it shows a steady 1.6v

musk
 

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
that's really weird. I don't think you have default voltage set in bios. My 30-cap defaults to 1.4875 or something and reads 1.392 in cpu-z at full load. Are you sure you are at stock voltage?
 
OP
musk

musk

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Looks like I have hit a bit of a wall.
I am priming 265*15 right now at 1.55 in bios.
This is actually showing 1.584 in cpuz
Hopefully goes for a while.
 

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
wow, nice clock! Is that 1.584 at full load? either way seems your board overvolts the vcore. I don't think that's a bad thing, most boards undervolt.
 
OP
musk

musk

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Thanks.
Thats at full load.
I know you questioned the default vcore, when I set it to default it undervolts slightly.
As soon as I go to a manual setting it overvolts.

It just passed test 4 of the 8k blend.
I have also found this correlation - I start prime and run pifast at the same time, if pifast fails it won't prime for any period of time. Could be a quick stability check?
Somebody else try this out.

musk
 

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
i can't figure out how to run two prime95 instances at the same time. right now i have bios set to 1.625, reads 1.55 full load in cpu-z and speedfan.
 

meionm

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
veryhumid said:
i can't figure out how to run two prime95 instances at the same time. right now i have bios set to 1.625, reads 1.55 full load in cpu-z and speedfan.

It's really simple he uses asus board with a drop mod whatever vcore he sets in bios will be under load maybe with varietion of .03v
 
OP
musk

musk

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
4GHZ air
I am folding (team 32) right now at 267*15 = 4009Mhz
Everything is sweet.
Ran some 3dmark 03 - 6305
PCmark04 - 6000

Radeon 9800pro AIW
 

Home-Chicken

Registered
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
uhh.... be careful musk, 1.88 vcore is awfully dangerous.
Many people seem to believe 1.65 is the max on air, you can go above for short periods of time, but folding consistantly at 1.88v is crazy!

I have an SL6WU at 3.85 @ 1.6v with a cascade water block, and i'm scared of going much higher. lol
 
OP
musk

musk

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Home-Chicken said:
uhh.... be careful musk, 1.88 vcore is awfully dangerous.
Many people seem to believe 1.65 is the max on air, you can go above for short periods of time, but folding consistantly at 1.88v is crazy!

I have an SL6WU at 3.85 @ 1.6v with a cascade water block, and i'm scared of going much higher. lol


dood,

Thats my 2500M in my sig. My P4 is at 1.55 bios
 

KrisMCool

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Location
Greensboro, NC
Great OC man! Hope she stays solid for you as many 3.0Cs seem to be degrading these days. I saw 4+GHz the first week I had mine (not at your nice low vcore and not stable either), but haven't seen it since. Best of luck with what appears to be a great CPU.