• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

MBM readings

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MsNath

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
I’m using MBM with my KT7A-RAID. I have found 3 temp sensors.
Via686B-1 -> 22c What’s this?
Via686B-2 -> 34c I assume chipset <Northbridge>
Via686B-3 -> 38c CPU

Isn’t 34c hot for even for a Northbridge chipset? I don’t think it was this hot before…

And what is the 22c temp reading? Is that the Southbridge or just a neutral temp sensor?

I currently have a 750 Duron in this setup with stock voltages.
 

TT120

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2001
Location
Sacramento, CA.
I dont know where MBM is getting that first reading. Your board only has the 2 sensors on it. I get the same thing (22c) and I have no clue where it's gettin it from.
 
N

Nomis

Guest
Sensor 1, Via686B-1 -> 24c Board Temperature
Sensor 2, Via686B-2 -> 41c CPU Temperature
Sensor 3, Via686B-3 -> 29c Power/Aux Temperature

I have an Iwill KK266-R and these are my current temp reading.
 
L

lightning

Guest
yeah!! i also had those kind of problem!! i thought the first reading is mobo system temp!! coz i'm using VP6 and it also give me 3 reading!! i assume 2 & 3 are the processor temp reading. kind a strange thing....any idea to get a correct temp reading??
 

1g_raider

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Location
Columbia, SC USA
I'm with you guys.... I have the same MoBo and MBM shows Via686B-1 as a sensor that is available. Mine reads 22c also so this must be a default readout.
 
L

lightning

Guest
well, my 22C reading some time will change to 23C but nv goes up to 24C. this phenomenon happen is due to hot air flow into the board or when the hot air blow from the heat sink and return back to the mobo!! that's y i thought it was the mobo temp reading.... :)
 
OP
M

MsNath

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
Ok that the 22c sensor does drop when I put my case out side. I have had it reading less than zero. Are you sure its not an actual working sensor?

More importantly is 35c to hot for my Northbridge? Something doesn't seem right. I have never seen it that hot before...
 

dem1an

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Location
Suwanee
from above i think 1 is the board, 2 is actually the cpu, 3 is power/aux (whatever that means). i don't know that we actually have a sensor on the northbridge...am i correct? fyi, i am actually getting 27C for sensor 1.
 

TT120

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2001
Location
Sacramento, CA.
MsNath (Apr 21, 2001 07:00 p.m.):
Ok that the 22c sensor does drop when I put my case out side. I have had it reading less than zero. Are you sure its not an actual working sensor?

More importantly is 35c to hot for my Northbridge? Something doesn't seem right. I have never seen it that hot before...
All I know is that the KT7A board only has 2 sensors, one under the chip and another one by the battery. MBM sees them as 686b 2 and 3
 
L

lightning

Guest
same as me, i just only know what in VP6 board. after i install the hardware monitor and compare it with the MBM. now i'm pretty sure that Via686B-2 and 3 are the temp sensor for both processor! but #1 still a mystery!! cool~~ :)