• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Memory Overheating

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Andreas1327

I made this post earlier in Geil USA Forums and I'm in need of any help available.. I will copy/paste the text so you can read it for yourselves..

My rig is the following:

Mother Board = DFI NF4 ultra - D
CPU ............ = Opteron 170
Memory ...... = Geil DDR 400.2.5-3-3-6 2.5v
PSU ............ = Seasonic 600w
Video .......... = Asus 8800GT
Hard Drives . = 2x80GB seagate striped and 1 250gb seagate ( all sata2)
OS .............. = Single Boot WinXP pro SP2

I work as a computer technician for a computer store in Athens (Greece) and that's where I bought the memory and my whole PC. What I am experiencing is this. While playing games or stressing my PC during the warmer months of the year (April to October) I get random BSOD's. At first I suspected it was the video card (my old x850pro) and I fought with the crashes by keeping the side of my PC open. Actually I was certain that it was some sort of overheating because when the case was opened and the air condition on during summer, I didn't have any problems. When it was closed I had BSOD's. Since I benchmarked and tested almost everything I concluded (faulty) it was the video card (i couldn't measure the temp since it was the plain X850 pro and not the XT).