• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Modding an IBM Model 60

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
I just gutted one 2 days ago, it was given to me, and I am in the process of fitting parts in it, a CDrom can fit into it easily virtically, the big rectangular area in the middle is removeable and the cdrom can fit right in the rails inside. Mounting a mobo is not easy though because it has no standoffs.
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
BTW... I have the whole rig, monitor and all... and it WORKS :)... or rather did till I gutted it.
 

Twinkle

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2001
Location
Maryland, USA
Ahh Yes the good old ps/2
i had one, till i gutted it, still have the hd, only it is...open...and i took the 120mm fan out of the PS...:) oh, and i pulled a few HS out of the PS too, they make wicked cool ramsinks...
 
OP
mrm1957

mrm1957

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Location
Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
JDXNC,

Mine still runs to. I picked it up the other day and thought
man this case may have potential. I haven't taken anything out yet cause I don't have anything to put back in. I was thinking of putting an ATX rear panel on here somehow so I can take the big switch out of the front.
 

SpeeDj

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2000
Location
Milwaukee, WI
mrm1957 said:
JDXNC,

Mine still runs to. I picked it up the other day and thought
man this case may have potential. I haven't taken anything out yet cause I don't have anything to put back in. I was thinking of putting an ATX rear panel on here somehow so I can take the big switch out of the front.
Read the article I linked to above, should give you some good ideas. It's a full tower at to atx conversion with watercooling and other such goodies. Check it out :)

J :cool:
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
The big power switch is part of the PSU. once you take out that PSU the switch is gone too
 

JDXNC

Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
After gutting this is what you have:

pc1.jpg


pc2.jpg


Its very roomy vertically but the damn thing is soo narrow its hard to put anything in it.
 
OP
mrm1957

mrm1957

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Location
Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
Yes Sir that's it. I was measuring the front and I think it will have just enough room to get CDROM's in there with about 1/2 inch on either side. It's gonna be close. I got a set of drive cages coming and an ATX back panel to put in. I was thinking of putting some kind of standoffs in for the mobo might put them in with jb weld
would hate to drill a bunch of holes on the outside for them.