• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Monitoring remote machines with hamachi

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dark bishop

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Location
Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon
A tutorial

1. Download Hamachi for free here, you'll want the un-managed version. Install like any other program. I recomend installing on your main pc that you will monitoring from first.

2. Click the power button in the top left corner, you'll be asked to create a name for this computer, the default should be fine but can be changed to make it easier to identify which computer it is.


3. Click "Create a new network" and fill our the name and password desired, mine is "DB Folding" and if i wanted anyone else to be able to log in to my network i could give them my password.


4. Should look somewhat like this except without others listed.


5. Install on your other boxes and join the network you created.

6. Turn on folder sharing and share the folders on the remote boxes. (C:\FAH, app-data\folding, etc...)

7. On your main computer you will be monitoring from start up HFM and add the client.


The top 3 are monitored over hamachi
 
Last edited:

GIXXERGUY6

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Location
Northwest Ohio
nice work I have one remote machine up, but the second I can't get past a network password

he's never set up a password before but it's asking for one.

going to dinner be back later

also he has 2 clients a cpu and a gpu how do I add both those? just add it and point to each folder the same I would for my rig here with me?
 

dfonda

Senior Golfer
Joined
Feb 25, 2004
How soon can they make an iphone app?:) This only works if you can install Hamachi on the machine correct?
 

GIXXERGUY6

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Location
Northwest Ohio
How soon can they make an iphone app?:) This only works if you can install Hamachi on the machine correct?

ftp/webserver, or hamachi

or you use a pc/iphone app to remote log in and look at each individually.

hfm has a webpage feature but I don't know how it works.


Harlam is the ish man He's got this program working great. Hellva lot easier than FAHmon that's for sure.
 

ozzlo

Senior whose title will pier
Joined
Mar 17, 2002
WOW Hamachi has made some significant improvements since I last used it. (at least visually)
 

KGH

Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2002
Location
San Jose, CA
Does this work with machine behind firewall/proxy? like PCs at office.
There is no way I can access those PCs at work via IP directly. Only via VPN or using logmein/teamviewer.
 

GIXXERGUY6

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Location
Northwest Ohio
Does this work with machine behind firewall/proxy? like PCs at office.
There is no way I can access those PCs at work via IP directly. Only via VPN or using logmein/teamviewer.

Should work just fine. I don't see why not. My wife is behind a firewall and everything is locked down tight. I logged on to her pc via teamviewer. She ran a session and I logged on.
 

GIXXERGUY6

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Location
Northwest Ohio
hey darkbishop did you have any issues with a pc not being seen by others on hamachi?

I can see the 2 computers I'm linked to for the log file, but they can't see me. I'm sharing everything but don't get why I'm not seen on their ends(it's 2 of them not just one of them!)

Any clue? Thanks in advance. I think I've looked through everything, but might have overlooked something.
 
OP
dark bishop

dark bishop

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Location
Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon
hm... so your computer is the main and theirs are being monitored? your name wont show up in the list if its the host but it should show up in the network places. If it doesn't then you may have your computer set to be hidden from the network.