• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

More C1s spotted

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Terry

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Been seeing a LOT of C1 2.53ghz and 2.0ghz P4s at work. They are all OEMs. I work at the Compaq [HP] plant here in Omaha. We have been using 2.4 C1s for about a month now.
 

runsalone

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2002
Location
Detroit
AAAAAGHHHHHHH!!!!! COMPAQ!!!! run away!!

hey do you guys still put a cardboard tube leading from the fan on the PSU to the heatsink on the cpu? thats how my presario 5050 was. no fan on the celeron 333 heatsink whatsoever.


BTW: do the lower speed C1s reach 3150 mhz prime95 stable? thats as far as this 2.8 goes. Wonder if it's the stable limit for every C1 in the 2 ghz range.
 

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Terry said:
Been seeing a LOT of C1 2.53ghz and 2.0ghz P4s at work. They are all OEMs. I work at the Compaq [HP] plant here in Omaha. We have been using 2.4 C1s for about a month now.








lol, Compaq's salesman is doing commercial on this message board
 
OP
Terry

Terry

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
Hehe, you guys are pretty funny. Actually Compaq does build some good computers... the servers. I see the rest all day long and they are built CHEAP. Great servers. Bad PCs.

My personal toy:
Abit IT7 MAX
P4 2.66 C1
2X512mb Corsair XMS 3200 CAS2 DDR
PNY Ti4600
Swiftech MCX 4000 w/Sunnon 50.6cfm fan


P4 [email protected]
FSB 160mhz
Memory at 3:4 Ratio 214mhz
3DMARK2001 with all background apps running 15023
 

Kull

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
I just got a 2.53GHz and it's marked 1.525v. Does that mean that it's a C1 stepping?

Other markings are SL6DW and 7237A441-xxxx
 

PhobMX

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Location
Toronto, ON, Canada
Terry said:
Hehe, you guys are pretty funny. Actually Compaq does build some good computers... the servers. I see the rest all day long and they are built CHEAP. Great servers. Bad PCs.

My personal toy:
Abit IT7 MAX
P4 2.66 C1
2X512mb Corsair XMS 3200 CAS2 DDR
PNY Ti4600
Swiftech MCX 4000 w/Sunnon 50.6cfm fan


P4 [email protected]
FSB 160mhz
Memory at 3:4 Ratio 214mhz
3DMARK2001 with all background apps running 15023

geez thats a kickass setup, compac should build pcs like those...

i just cant imagine how would a GeForceFX would perfrom with that cpu...

*EDIT*

BTW, whats your cpu 100% load temp???
 

skou

Senior Member
Joined
May 28, 2002
Terry, can you buy CPUs at work? Get us some c-1 1.8s?

steve
 

pacino

The devil’s advocate
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Location
Where the hottest chicks reside!
skou said:
Terry, can you buy CPUs at work? Get us some c-1 1.8s?

steve

Why would you need that? .. IMO, if you got a great/lucky chip then whether it's a C1 or not it will OC towards your goal .. for example, take my 1 day old 1.8 that did 3ghz 3:4 mem ratio on DEFAULT VCORE! ... or would you rather go buy a C1 1.8, with all the hasstles, and end up with 2.6~2.9Ghz? lol .. and yes, someone is doing a great advertising here for COMPAQ! ROFL!
 

Roadwarrior1956

Registered
Joined
Jun 28, 2002
Location
Memphis TN
Look for these 2 sSpec numbers for 2.53 C1 stepping

sSpec Number SL6EG
Processor Frequency 2.53 GHz
CPUID String 0F27h
Package Type FC-PGA2 478-pin
Core Voltage 1.525V
Bus Speed 533 MHz
Thermal Design Power 61.5W
Core Stepping C1
Max Junction Temp 72°C
L2 Cache Size 512K
Die Size 0.13 micron
L2 Cache Speed 2.53 GHz
ECC/non-ECC ECC
Bus/Core Ratio 19.0
Boxed/OEM Processor? Boxed
Product Order Code BX80532PE2533D

sSpec Number SL6DW Processor Frequency 2.53 GHz
CPUID String 0F27h Package Type FC-PGA2 478-pin
Core Voltage 1.525V Bus Speed 533 MHz
Thermal Design Power 61.5W Core Stepping C1
Max Junction Temp 72°C L2 Cache Size 512K
Die Size 0.13 micron L2 Cache Speed 2.53 GHz
ECC/non-ECC ECC Bus/Core Ratio 19.0
Boxed/OEM Processor? Both Product Order Code BX80532PE2533D
 

stroligo

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Terry is simply reporting what he's finding where he works. This is very helpful information. I've asked Terry to tell us about these things, so if you're going to hassle anybody about it, hassle me. :)

Thanks, Terry!
 

phantom punisher

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
fort drum NY
well put stroligo. this is insider information people. if there at the oem's they be in stores soon. no comercial here just a plain "heads up the goods are coming"
 

skou

Senior Member
Joined
May 28, 2002
Uh, I think all 2.53B CPUs are c-1. That's my opinion, I could be wrong.

steve
 
OP
Terry

Terry

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
They do not allow us to BUY anything here. But a few guys have brought in their personal PCs and "tested" CPUs in em. I suppose it is no harm no foul to "trade" your CPU for another one just like it that perhaps... overclocks... a little better? I mean you are BOUND to find a good one one :) if you test 10 or 20 trays of them.

Have not seen ANY P4 1.8 C1s yet. HAVE seen 3.06 P4s and all the new Xeons up to 2.8 including the 133mhz FSB versions.

My PC max temp is about 52c under load. The CPU actually does a shade over 3400 [3420] stable but the memory has to be run at 1:1 ratio there. I'll take the hit on the FSB to run the memory at 3:4. I thought it was decent considering it is running 2X512mb sticks in it and not just one stick like a lot of guys do. System is built in a ThermalTake 6000 Xaser II case [Silver/small window on side]. CPU is at true 1.7v [wire mod in socket] with BIOS setting at 1.725v.
 
Last edited:

larva

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jul 12, 2002
The only harm might be if the chip you trade fails in the compaq computer while still under warranty, and compaq sends it back to Intel for replacement. Granted the trail would be long and difficult to trace, but there would certainly be some questions raised.

PS-I've also worked in environments where I got to choose the best of hundreds of cpus... There's no denying this is the hot setup if you want maximum overclock, but I would say there is a bit of risk in your plan unless compaq knows about and condones such behavior.
 
OP
Terry

Terry

Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2000
You have a point. But I have seen trays of retail S codes mixed in with OEM S codes. I think if Intel is short on an OEM chip they will send Retail versions to fill the consignment. I remember awhile back we got 15000 Retail Boxed CPUs in there cuz Intel was out of the OEM version of that particular CPU. What was sick is we THREW OUT all 15000 of the retail Intel heatsinks/fans into the crusher! Compaqs use propritary hs/fans. Lately, however, they are using a lot of those AVC Sunflowers on the EVO 310s and 510s. The plant here builds about 3000 computers a day.
 

Soapy

Registered
Joined
Aug 22, 2002
skou said:
Uh, I think all 2.53B CPUs are c-1. That's my opinion, I could be wrong.
All 2.53's are 533MHz FSB, so you don't need the "B". But no, not all of them are C-1 stepping...
 

larva

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jul 12, 2002
Terry said:
You have a point. But I have seen trays of retail S codes mixed in with OEM S codes. I think if Intel is short on an OEM chip they will send Retail versions to fill the consignment. I remember awhile back we got 15000 Retail Boxed CPUs in there cuz Intel was out of the OEM version of that particular CPU. What was sick is we THREW OUT all 15000 of the retail Intel heatsinks/fans into the crusher! Compaqs use propritary hs/fans. Lately, however, they are using a lot of those AVC Sunflowers on the EVO 310s and 510s. The plant here builds about 3000 computers a day.

That is a waste. I would love to have 15000 retail HSF's to sell on ebay... I wouldn't work for 6 months.... lol.

3000/day is a lot of computers. At my busiest time It took me two years to build that many. Of course this was with just myself and one helper.