• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Motherboard for fx 6100

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Confuzie

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Hello ,i own a fx6100 without motherboard , what mb i should buy for a bit overclocking it , like 4 ghz~ ?
ASRock 980DE3/U3S3 R2.0 is this ok ? For cooling i will use ice edge mini fs but i can upgrade it for a better one if you guys think that cooling is low for fx 6100
 
OP
C

Confuzie

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
ASRock 980DE3/U3S3 R2. if i take this and on the future when i want to overclock the fx 6100 , i could buy a radiator for vrm , is not ok ?

Romania
 
Last edited:

Blaylock

"That Backfired" Senior Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Location
Go Blue!
No. The VRM's are not heatsinked. I'm fairly certain no one makes a water block for them and even if you could cool them, there just isn't enough power behind them for overclocking.

To be totally honest running at stock speeds on that board would be questionable.
 
OP
C

Confuzie

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
It does't make sens at all for me , how they said it support "CPU up to 140W" if the fx 6100 is just 95 w and with a bit of overclock like from 3,3 to 3,8~ it will be that hard ...
 

bob4933

Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
It does't make sens at all for me , how they said it support "CPU up to 140W" if the fx 6100 is just 95 w and with a bit of overclock like from 3,3 to 3,8~ it will be that hard ...

Well this sounds familiar... And answer my question please.
 
OP
C

Confuzie

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
I did , i just edited the last post , i didnt want to make one post with only one word ..
 

Blaylock

"That Backfired" Senior Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Location
Go Blue!
I understand Confuzie but this is a very common problem. There is a chance it will work, but the risk isn't worth it in my opinion. These AMD FX chips run so hot and draw a lot of power especially when overclocked. The fact that you have the 95W variant is definitely a plus, but it will reach the limits of those VRMs.

Do you have the board already?
 
OP
C

Confuzie

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
I dont , thats why i come here for suggestion , i think better buy sh motherboard from retailers , what do you think about : Gigabyte 970A-DS3P and MSI 970A-G43 ?
 

Blaylock

"That Backfired" Senior Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Location
Go Blue!
I used the MSI 970A for my brothers FX-6200 and could not over clock on it. In fact it's to hot for my liking at stock. The Gigabyte board is a 4+1 VRM also so I would not suggest it.

Here's a link to an older database showing the VRM's of different boards. Keep in mind this is getting out dated now but you get the hint. For the FX-6100 I would stick with 6+2 or better.

http://www.overclock.net/t/946407/amd-motherboards-vrm-info-database


EDIT: A heatsinked board will be better for Overclocking also.
 

Blaylock

"That Backfired" Senior Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Location
Go Blue!
If it is in fact an 8+2 heatsinked board that would be your best option from what you've listed.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Coufuzie, you are confusing (couldn't resist the pun) the DS3P with the UD3P gigabyte. The former has only 4+1 power phase.
 

Attachments

  • 4+1.PNG
    4+1.PNG
    252.4 KB · Views: 114
OP
C

Confuzie

Registered
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Yep , thank you , i made a mistake there , i found the UD3 cheaper than ds3p :D