• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Multiplier Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yangsing

I'm a newb when it comes to OCing and I've read up on some of the sticky threads in the AMD CPU forum. One question I had was, why would you want to unlock the multiplier in the first place? Could you not just raise the FSB by itself using 1/4-1/5 dividers or use one of the new nforce2 boards that are coming soon?

I'm just curious is why people are unlocking AMDs for the purpose of lowering the multiplier? Whats the real benefit over just raising the FSB by istelf and leaving the multiplier at the default value?

Thanks for anyone who can help in advance :)

Laters,
Yangsing "Achoo"

a1cnolan