• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

mushkin vs CORSAIR

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zoltrix!

Registered
Joined
Jul 25, 2002
i have a problam
I know mushkin OWNz
& I know corsair OWnz

my 2 opponents are the


Mushkin 256MB Hi Perf Level2 DDR 2700 CAS222 & the Corsair CMX256A-3000C2PT

well, the mushkin got cas 2-2-2-6
& the the corsair got cas 2-3-3-7

i know the corsair is a better overclocker but still...
P.S.
agen please forgive my speeling i'm from israel!;)
 

TheFrag

Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Are they both pc2700? If not, what mobo are you using? The Mushkin has better settings..............
 
OP
Z

Zoltrix!

Registered
Joined
Jul 25, 2002
they are both 2700 becous the mobo i'n using (EPOX EP-8K9A2 KT 400) i sapporting only up 2 2700
:eh?:
 

=[8c0re8]=

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Where Da Big Budz Grow!
well i have both of them..the MUshkin 3000 which is PC2700 i think? an the Corsair XMS.Both are 512 sticks..

i dont know why but it "seems" that i can hit 195fsb with my musnkins but cant seem to [email protected] the same fsb witht the corsairs?...also thought the corsiarsXMS was supposed run @ 166
fsb with the "most" aggressive settings but when i try to run it
it does not boot up?..goin to play aroundwith my settings again.

but which ever one u get i sure u will be happy with either or:)

im using the rig in my sig..
 

TheFrag

Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
i am assuming u want to OC? You can use anything over pc2700, and doing so will allow a higher overclock. So I would get some pc3200
 

malon

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Location
Madrid
Zoltrix! said:
they are both 2700 becous the mobo i'n using (EPOX EP-8K9A2 KT 400) i sapporting only up 2 2700
:eh?:

That mobo support even PC3500 so if you have the money go for it !!
 
OP
Z

Zoltrix!

Registered
Joined
Jul 25, 2002
i some how cant edit my messege so i just wanted to know, that thos it mean DDR400 unofficially supported??
 

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Go with Corsair's RAM sticks......just because they are using Micron's RAM chips :)

Micron is the king
 

malon

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Location
Madrid
Zoltrix! said:
look

• 3 PC2700 DDR SDRAM banks for Maximum 3 GB memory
* (DDR400 unofficially supported)

from http://www.epox.nl/english/products/motherboard/8k9a2+.htm

:eh?:

u think it is better if i get another mobo?
p.s.
wish me luck, i have an english test 2day!

Look, That mobo is newest than mine (8k3a - KT333) and I have a corsair pc3200 on it. So your mobo does support pc3200 ram too !

oops said:
Go with Corsair's RAM sticks......just because they are using Micron's RAM chips

Micron is the king

Not all corsair comes with Micron chips... mine comes with Winbond BH-6 chips and for me they are better than micron :p
 

lightbulb8817

Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2002
Location
My igloo
I like both Corsair and Mushkin.
My mushkin can do DDR 450 with 2.7vdimm
My Corsair can do DDR 460 with 2.7vdimm.
I can set more aggressive timings with my Mushkin than my Corsair.

I guess you can flip a coin :beer:
 

TheFrag

Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Zoltrix! said:
look

• 3 PC2700 DDR SDRAM banks for Maximum 3 GB memory
* (DDR400 unofficially supported)


from http://www.epox.nl/english/products/motherboard/8k9a2+.htm


:eh?:

u think it is better if i get another mobo?
p.s.
wish me luck, i have an english test 2day!

Well........ It may be rated at pc2700, but that does not mean it will only take pc2700. pc2700 is all it needs to work, but putting in greater ddr will allow the your fsb to go higher, because the RAM will be able to take higher FSBs. Trust me on this one
 
OP
Z

Zoltrix!

Registered
Joined
Jul 25, 2002
could the board do me any problams,
i'm sorry i'm such a pita... but its importent, i am spending my well earnd money on this (i am cleaning my dojo ;) )

i mean will i have some problames to do OC, or even to work properly?

Shalom Zoltrix!
shalon shalom! :p
 

=[8c0re8]=

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Where Da Big Budz Grow!
I can set more aggressive timings with my Mushkin than my Corsair.


Yes i to hae also been able to set more agressive settings with my Muskins PC3200 then with my Corsairs XMS.