• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My 9800 is different...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
I was going to start working on my volt mod today, but I realized my 9800 Pro is laid out differently than all the ones I've seen in guides. The SC1175 chip is rotated 90 degrees, right above a silver heat spreader. The voltage reading points don't seem to be the same either.

This is a Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro with a brown PCB and Samsung memory. Can anyone help me out?
 
OP
johan851

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
I'll see if it's an XT PCB.

No digicam, so no pictures...sorry, I know that would be helpful. :(
 
OP
johan851

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
Actually...it looks like it's on a 9700 PCB. Is that a bad thing?

It has the same layout as the 9700 Pro, and when I checked the 9700 Pro vGPU measuring point it read 1.68.
 

Tatuya

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Location
Crunching [email protected]
So you are saying that you do not have the L-shaped PCB configuration (where your memory, etc. makes a big L shape)?

Here is an example of an L-shaped 9800Pro

I honestly cannot recall what the other shape is or what we nicknamed it. Perhaps someone who is an expert the video/sound section will help you out.
 

Tatuya

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Location
Crunching [email protected]
I recommend moving this over to the video/sound section by pming a mod, even though this is the volt modding section, the video/sound section will most likely be the better of the two at answering your question and helping you, not to mention a lot more people browse through it.
 
OP
johan851

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
No, I do have the L-shaped. Attached is a 9700 Pro:
 
Last edited:

JoT

You can't fire me, I have
Joined
Jun 3, 2002
It might possibly be one of those mislabeled 9800's that Sapphire was selling.
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
I think it may unfortunately be a 128-bit card. (If this is what you mean, JoT). These are actually just 9500 Pros to my knowledge, that are clocked a bit higher.
 
OP
johan851

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
This is definitely a 256-bit guys. I'm not that dumb, and there's no way it pulls high 18000's in 3DMark with only 128 bits. I've had it for a while too.

So can I just use the 9700 volt mod on it?
 

Tekko

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Location
Montreal, Qc
I got a 9700pro and I do get 19017 on 3dMark01, aside from a VGA silencer there was no mod done to the card. from the picture it looks almost identical to my video card
 

Moto7451

Senior Something
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Location
LA, CA
He's thinking that you actually have a Radeon 9700. What does it say you have in the device manager?
 
OP
johan851

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
Device Manager = "RADEON 9800 PRO"

I'm not a n00b fellas...at least I don't think I am. I don't think many 9700's overclock to 425/400 either...

ATi confirms this is 8 pipelines, 256-bit bus. I think Sapphire was just lazy, that's all.
 

meionm

Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
do you have a picture of the back of the card, this might me 9800pro with layout of xt
 
OP
johan851

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
Here's what the back looks like - stole the picture from Tom's. Like I said, I don't have a digicam.

CAN I JUST DO THE 9700 VOLT MOD?? That's all I want to know...
 

Attachments

  • 9700 back.JPG
    9700 back.JPG
    31.2 KB · Views: 260