• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My H2-Oooyeah! PC is won't start. :(

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

strokeside

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Location
Dublin, Ireland
I feckin test all the components and everything outside of the case, and it all works fine. I assemble it in my case, and add the H2-Oooyeah! cooling, and now it won't boot.
It was just really depsressing, you switch on the pump, hurray it the water cooling system works fine. Then I switch on the PC, starts booting, then the hard-drive gives out a small grunt and the booting stops.
I change hard-drives with a known working one, still the same. I change IDE cables with known working ones, still the same. I change the CPU with a known working one, still the same. I change the RAM with known working ram, still the same. I change the GFX card with a known working one, still the same.
My last possible problem areas are the PSU and mobo. I know it's not likely, but I am praying it's the PSU's fault. Else I gotta go buy a new mobo.

I knew something had to go wrong when making my water system went so right!!!!

Feckin Yin-Yang life!!
 

OSUmaxx

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Oregon
I don't know if this is the case, but is your BIOS set to shut the computer down if the HSF isn't running? Since you don't have a HSF plugged in now, that could be the problem.
 
OP
strokeside

strokeside

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Location
Dublin, Ireland
I thought of that and stuck a fan onto the FAN header nearest the CPU, but still the same. I think I will try the other one too, just in case.
 

OSUmaxx

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Oregon
strokeside said:
I thought of that and stuck a fan onto the FAN header nearest the CPU, but still the same. I think I will try the other one too, just in case.

Usually the BIOS checks the first fan header (labeled on mobo most likely). Other than that, I can't think of anything...
 
OP
strokeside

strokeside

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2002
Location
Dublin, Ireland
Well I got another PSU to try as well, so I can narrow the problem down to a specific component. At least I'll know what I need to replace.
thanks.
s.
 

Tokayla

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
England!
sounds like the same thing i did.. :S i think i know whats wrong. i had a amd xp 2ghz chip it was faulty - clocked at 1250 not 1670 and when i tried it out in another machine it did not boot at all. the computer started then stoped almost instaltny and did NOT come back. i replaced the old 1.3 amdxp chip and all was well so i think your watercooling system may have leaked onto the chip?.. or the chip is damaged. if its new send the mobo and chip back with the exuse it came like that... :) thats what i always do.

-EDIT- i only did it once! :confused:
 
Last edited:

OSUmaxx

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Oregon
Tokayla said:
if its new send the mobo and chip back with the exuse it came like that... :) thats what i always do.

Or you could be honest and purchase a new chip if you crushed the core, etc. Don't RMA products that you caused to be faulty. Talk about unethical. :rolleyes:
 

dxiw

Disabled
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
OSUmaxx said:


Or you could be honest and purchase a new chip if you crushed the core, etc. Don't RMA products that you caused to be faulty. Talk about unethical. :rolleyes:

you must be really rich...


anyways,, you can try to take it all out the case again and see if it runs if it does it maybe be something in the case shorting the mobo. also make sure that everything is plugged in snug and that you watercooling sys is mounted on good and that you didn't forget to plug any wires. Just take your time and unplug and replug everything and eventually you'll figure it out...now if you mounted your waterblock incorrectly and crushed the core...then your screwed but if i were you unplug everything and one by one replug make sure your not missing anything. I have gone nuts before trying to solve no boot problems and then found it to be a screw shorting the mobo or a usb header on backwards or stupid stupid stuff
 
D

Dragon_Engineer2

Guest
I would go with what dxiw said but please don't rma it if you killed it.
 

JFettig

Hey! I showered! Senior
Joined
Jan 5, 2002
Location
MN
stick a hsf back on and test it... sometimes its related to something weird, is it the p3 system?
 

Tokayla

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
England!
unethical?! ... i just spent 300 pounds (450$) on motherboard kit and before i even got it running its broken!

i doubt you would have done any thing differntly.
 
D

Dragon_Engineer2

Guest
Ok I don't think you understand.If he killed it (it was working before he mounted the water block)then he should not return it.
Tokayla said:
unethical?! ... i just spent 300 pounds (450$) on motherboard kit and before i even got it running its broken!

i doubt you would have done any thing differntly.
 

OSUmaxx

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Location
Oregon
Tokayla said:
unethical?! ... i just spent 300 pounds (450$) on motherboard kit and before i even got it running its broken!

i doubt you would have done any thing differntly.

Read your post above. You said that you always send it back with the excuse that it came like that. If it wasn't working when you got it, that would be different.

Anyway, back on topic.
 

Diggrr

Underwater Senior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Firstly, get out your flashlight and make sure the fan header you plugged into is labeled number one. Abit switches them around on some boards, and I wouldn't be surprised if others did too.

Secondly, are you using steel bolts to hold the waterblock on? If so, did you use Nylon washers?
Remove any teeny tiny resistors when you tightened the bolts down (ya know, the little ones around the socket).
If you're using a clip-on model holddown, did you scratch the mobo next to the socket when you installed it? (like breaking a conductive trace line?).
Did you nudge a little too hard on a capacitor to make the block fit onto the socket area?
Double check the thermal goop imprint on the backside of the waterblock to make sure you have good contact (thermal shutdown).

I'm with Masked, check it out with an hsf on it before you get to the panic point. If you didn't hose it by anything you did, feel free to rma (sucks, don't it). Adding a cooler (water or otherwise) is little excuse for it not working (if installed correctly).

Best of luck to ya!
 

Tokayla

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
England!
back to basics!

the problem you have is that the problem could be either with the mobo or the cpu, try to borrow some one elses board with the same specs as yours to find which ones broken
 

FleshEating Bob

Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Location
I forget.
Ya'll anti-unethical overclockers must think we're all rich or something. Not everyone can afford to throw away a $300 mobo after breaking it by accident, then turn around and buy a new one. It's not his fault the damn things are so fragile! The companies make millions of dallars anyhow, RMAing a part you accidentally broke isn't unethical, it's a way to NOT waste money. Now I can understand RMAing a part you fried while overclocking it is wrong, but when someone breaks a mobo just trying to install a new part, saying RMAing it is unethical is...Yeesh.
 

dxiw

Disabled
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
FleshEating Bob said:
Ya'll anti-unethical overclockers must think we're all rich or something. Not everyone can afford to throw away a $300 mobo after breaking it by accident, then turn around and buy a new one. It's not his fault the damn things are so fragile! The companies make millions of dallars anyhow, RMAing a part you accidentally broke isn't unethical, it's a way to NOT waste money. Now I can understand RMAing a part you fried while overclocking it is wrong, but when someone breaks a mobo just trying to install a new part, saying RMAing it is unethical is...Yeesh.

I agree!!!!
 

Diggrr

Underwater Senior Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Who me?

I wasn't saying if it's broke, too bad. I said if he's not the one that broke it them go ahead and RMA it.

A couple more things to note before I butt out and quit jacking his thread,
*The companies make millions of dollars...hardly an excuse to purposely rip them off. Covering those costs will (and have) raised the prices for all of us. Who do you think pays their losses? You, on your very next purchase, just as you have now covered their losses from someone else.

*The things are fragile...well duh. You're working with fragile electronics. If you can't handle them tenderly, then take up another hobby, like skeet. Those are supposed to break.

*Installing a new part that's being put where it's supposed to be and how it's supposed to be does not void the warrantee, if it's got a problem, then RMA your little heart out. Breaking the motherboard using club hands, no experience, and the wrong tools for the job will void it, live with what you did like a man.
No I'm not rich either, My computer represents 2 1/2 months pay (pay that's shared by a wife and two kids), but I take great care in what I do inside that computer...you must if it is to live through it.

And now, back to the thread at hand: Apologies to Strokeside for the intrusion.
So what's the word Strokeside, is it alive or dead?
 

Tokayla

Registered
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Location
England!
i agree but in my situation it was not exactly my fault it was a freak accident beacuse of a bloody cheap case (which is now rma), the case had built up a charge of sumthing and as soon as my long screwdriver got close to pins on mobo and bottom ridge of case ZAP! ... :|

and i would bet millions that if you where in the same situation as me you would have done the same thing, iam all for being ethnical but not when it comes at such at great cost and before id even got much use out of it, you end up feeling rather ripped off if you don't rma.

and i think strokeside may have realised this thread is going no where maybe this topic should have been discused in the general forum?