• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My homemade water block

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ghastard

As I mentioned in my earlier post "What do you put in your bong water", I'm going to show you guys what I've made. :)

To start out, I'll mention that I've had no real experience (yet) with water cooling. I have read up on the subject, and eventually decided to jump right in.

One thing that I kept in mind while planning this out was the access I had to a CNC mill that's in one of my classroom's at my high school. The thing works very well, but isn't used very much. I used it in the past to make things like engravings (My teacher and I tried to market custom engravings to students and staff to raise money to buy a nice geek toy, but only one person ordered something), but never actually "machined" anything. This block turned out to be a pretty tough thing to do, and I had to consult with the machine shop teacher occasionally. In the end, it turned out MUCH better than anything I was expecting.

I had initially planned to use copper, but I found out that copper is much harder to machine than aluminum. I was somewhat dissapointed, but figured that it would still be cool to get working.

I designed the block in Autocad, which I could export to the mill. There's a lot to learn about milling, and I still don't know much, but I managed to figure out enough to make this. Granted, it isn't a professional piece of work, but I'm happy with it.

The whole milling process was pretty tedious and ended up taking a few hours to complete (spreaded over three days). I still don't have the top made, but I'm planning on epoxying or screwing in plexiglass.

I'm pretty sure the channels are deep enough to use 3/8" hose with pretty good flow. I made the channels zig-zag to try to create more turbulence.