• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My Radeon lLE OEM scores

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Incarnated666

Registered
Joined
Jun 11, 2001
my radeon le is o/c @ 191/191 and w/1.2ghz/266 Athlon 384mg ram and I can get upto 4865 on 3Dmark2001, and 8465 on 3Dmark 2000 I run Win ME
 

Mad_Capr

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Location
Reality, USA
Incarnated666 (Jul 14, 2001 02:22 a.m.):
my radeon le is o/c @ 191/191 and w/1.2ghz/266 Athlon 384mg ram and I can get upto 4865 on 3Dmark2001, and 8465 on 3Dmark 2000 I run Win ME

If that is true, why are my scores so bad?

I have a Radeon VIVO 64mb DDR and a 1.33ghz/266fsb Athlon running at 1.52ghz/276fsb with 256mb of Crucial PC2100 ram.

My best 3dMark2000 score is 5497. I am running under Windows 2000, is that the problem?
 

Superman53142

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Location
WI
Does the chipset you're using make any difference? I'm running a 1ghz 200FSB on KT133 with 384MB memory and my Radeon LE o/c'ed to 195/195 and only get 3124 on 3dMark2001
 
OP
I

Incarnated666

Registered
Joined
Jun 11, 2001
Absolutely! the KT133 chipset is not nearly as overclockable as w/FSB as the KT133a is.
Mad-Capr, do you have the radeon o/c? I found that my OEM version was set at 140mhz I was looking around and found a Bios update to the retail version and flashed it and it brought my GPU upto 185mhz. That made the biggest diff. on my B/M scores. Also, make sure you have the newest drivers and use radeon tweaker 1.1.96 I believe it is the easiest to use and it is updated frequently.
 

Mad_Capr

Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Location
Reality, USA
Incarnated666 (Jul 14, 2001 02:09 p.m.):
Mad-Capr, do you have the radeon o/c? I found that my OEM version was set at 140mhz I was looking around and found a Bios update to the retail version and flashed it and it brought my GPU upto 185mhz. That made the biggest diff. on my B/M scores. Also, make sure you have the newest drivers and use radeon tweaker 1.1.96 I believe it is the easiest to use and it is updated frequently.

The score of 5497 on 3dmark2000 was after I installed RadeonTweaker and used the 3dmark2000 profile. It appears that my card defaults to 183mhz, but I had it at 191mhz when I did the benchmark. I may try to install a dual boot system with Windows 98se and see if my scores are much better then.

I mean, I'm not unhappy with the card at all. I get 125fps in Quake 3 at 800 x 600 with all the highest quality settings. Every other game I play gets great frame rates, too. The card is great, I am just surprised that my 3dmark2000 score isn't higher.
 

TranceBear

Big Daddy Bear Senior
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Mad_Capr (Jul 14, 2001 03:24 p.m.):
Incarnated666 (Jul 14, 2001 02:09 p.m.):
Mad-Capr, do you have the radeon o/c? I found that my OEM version was set at 140mhz I was looking around and found a Bios update to the retail version and flashed it and it brought my GPU upto 185mhz. That made the biggest diff. on my B/M scores. Also, make sure you have the newest drivers and use radeon tweaker 1.1.96 I believe it is the easiest to use and it is updated frequently.

The score of 5497 on 3dmark2000 was after I installed RadeonTweaker and used the 3dmark2000 profile. It appears that my card defaults to 183mhz, but I had it at 191mhz when I did the benchmark. I may try to install a dual boot system with Windows 98se and see if my scores are much better then.

I mean, I'm not unhappy with the card at all. I get 125fps in Quake 3 at 800 x 600 with all the highest quality settings. Every other game I play gets great frame rates, too. The card is great, I am just surprised that my 3dmark2000 score isn't higher.


I agree, at 800x600 32bit I am getting 6500 on 3-D Mark 2000 and 142.5fps in Quake-3. My card is NOT DDR. I feel my 2001 scores are a bit low, only 3400.
 

Macca

Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2001
Incarnate, Have you added a fan running your Radeon at that speed? I just bought a Radeon Le this week, running at 166/166. I'd like to get some more out of it though. Can i run it higer without a fan? If not, can you recommend one?

Thanks.
 
OP
I

Incarnated666

Registered
Joined
Jun 11, 2001
when i got my scores i had no fan on my card, but i just put 1 on it and am going to do some testing on it soon. i will let you know if it makes much of a difference. oh yeah, i added ram heat sinks and a bigger gpu heatsink and i used the factory fan from AMD to cool it. the fan is big enough to cover the ram and gpu. we'll see what happens!
 

Rav

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Location
Philthadelphia
I am running Win98 SE and have a Radeon 64 VIVO retail running at 193/193 and I usually only get 5900ish in 3dmark2000, I've never seen radeon scores even close to 8000 even over 200mhz clocks. And if i read correctly Incarnated's FSB is at stock speed. Heres my system stats:

AMD Tbird [email protected](112x8.5)
ABIT KT7
ATI Radeon 64 VIVO Retail
256mb [email protected] CAS2

My Radeon has stock HSF and ramsinks, with a side case fan blowing on it.

Incarnated, what resolution and settings/tweaks did you use to get that score?

-Rav