• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My ram hit a wall when OCing, what now?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Shaocaholica

Registered
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
I have a A64 3200 on an ASUS K8V with 2x512 Corsair Value Select PC3200 CL2.5.

I started getting prime errors at 220 and I was pretty sure my 3200 wasn't topping out at that speed so I ran memtest and it turns out the ram is flaking out at 220(2.5-3-3-6 & 2.8V).

I turned up my CAS latency to 3 and testing again but Im not sure how far I can get with this memory by turning up the other latencies.

I guess Im looking for some advice so I don't have to run a bunch of time consuming memest trails. Could I squeeze much more if I went to 4-4-4-8 or is it not worth it? What are you guys squeezing out of your value select ram?
 

dreIU

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Bloomington, IN
Shaocaholica said:
I have a A64 3200 on an ASUS K8V with 2x512 Corsair Value Select PC3200 CL2.5.

I started getting prime errors at 220 and I was pretty sure my 3200 wasn't topping out at that speed so I ran memtest and it turns out the ram is flaking out at 220(2.5-3-3-6 & 2.8V).

I turned up my CAS latency to 3 and testing again but Im not sure how far I can get with this memory by turning up the other latencies.

I guess Im looking for some advice so I don't have to run a bunch of time consuming memest trails. Could I squeeze much more if I went to 4-4-4-8 or is it not worth it? What are you guys squeezing out of your value select ram?

Well dont loosed your timings. Give it more volts. How much voltage does that mobo provide to the vdimm? I wuold either live with a 220ish mhz on the ram with tight timings than loosening them.

If after you increase voltage, you still can't get too high on the ram, just let it be and up the HTT on your processor. You dont have to run mem and CPU at 1:1 with the 64's. good luck
 

Yuriman

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2002
Location
The OCFORUMS
HTT is like what like FSB on old cpu's. At stock, the 3000+ runs at 200x10(right?), 200 being the HTT. I suggest a a divider. If you can set the divider to 5:4, also called "Max mem clock 166", you could do 250HT and your ram would be at 200.
 
OP
S

Shaocaholica

Registered
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Oh ok. I tried setting the divider to 5:6(5:3 if you count the double rate) which as the mose conservative setting below 1:1. So basically at 200mhz ram, the "HTT" was 240 which I think was too high for the CPU (2640mhz). I think Im just going to keep it 1:1.
 

hitechjb1

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Most A64 motherboards do not have 4:5 or 160:200 setting, but either 1:1 or 5:6 (166:200).

If you have a 3200+ ClawHammer,
at CPU x10, 1:1 memory ratio, memory_bus = HTT
at CPU x10, 5:6 memory ratio, memory_bus = HTT * 5 / 6

If you have a 3200+ NewCastle,
at CPU x11, 1:1 memory ratio, memory_bus = HTT
at CPU x11, 5:6 memory ratio, memory_bus = HTT * 11 / 14

For other settings of CPU multiplier such as x9, x8, ..., memory ratio, memory bus frequency calculation can be found here.

Memory bus frequency setting, SYNC/ASYNC mode
 
Last edited:
OP
S

Shaocaholica

Registered
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
Why does the newcastle have a wierd 11/14 ratio?

Edit: Ok, after reading some of that, everything seems way more complex. Since my mobo doesn't have AGP/PCI lock, how can I go about calculating what those buses are running at? Are they based on the HTT? Are there any manual AGP/PCI dividers on the K8V?

Basically, I want to keep my memory at 210-220 and my CPU at 2.5-2.6 while keeping my AGP under 75. Doable?
 
Last edited:

hitechjb1

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Shaocaholica said:
Why does the newcastle have a wierd 11/14 ratio?

Edit: Ok, after reading some of that, everything seems way more complex. Since my mobo doesn't have AGP/PCI lock, how can I go about calculating what those buses are running at? Are they based on the HTT? Are there any manual AGP/PCI dividers on the K8V?

Basically, I want to keep my memory at 210-220 and my CPU at 2.5-2.6 while keeping my AGP under 75. Doable?

It is not NewCastle has 11/14. It is due to 11x multiplier used. The memory divider for other multipliers are in that link.

Is your 3200+ ClawHammer or NewCastle?

One possibility is:
HTT = 250-260 MHz
memory_ratio = 5 / 6 (same as 166/200)
CPU_multiplier = 10
memory_CPU_divider = 12 (this is a result of memory_ratio and CPU_multiplier)
CPU_frequency = 2.5 - 2.6 GHz
memory_bus_frequency = HTT / 12 = 208 - 217 MHz
(assuming you can lock the PCI/AGP)
 
OP
S

Shaocaholica

Registered
Joined
Mar 16, 2004
From those speeds, since I can't lock AGP/PCI, what would my AGP/PCI speeds be? Are they based on the HTT?

Also, I have a newcastle.
 

hitechjb1

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Shaocaholica said:
From those speeds, since I can't lock AGP/PCI, what would my AGP/PCI speeds be? Are they based on the HTT?

Also, I have a newcastle.

Is there a setting in the ASUS K8V bios to lock the AGP/PCI, such as memory/FSB/AGP/PCI?
e.g. 200/200/66/33, 166/200/66/33, etc, etc.

How do you check the AGP/PCI bus frequency?
 
Last edited:

hitechjb1

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Is the ASUS K8V a K8T800 non-pro?

It may not have working AGP/PCI lock.

If it does not have working AGP/PCI lock, then I think AGP = HTT / 3, PCI = HTT / 6.

And you may have to limit the HTT to 38 x 6 = 228 MHz.

As such,
CPU_multiplier = 11 (max for NewCastle 3200+)

if memory_ratio = 1:1, memory_divider = 11
if memory_ratio = 5:6, memory_divider = 14

CPU_frequency = 228 x 11 = 2508 MHz

memory_bus_frequency = 2508 / 11 = 228 MHz (for memory_ratio 1:1)
memory_bus_frequency = 2508 / 14 = 179 MHz (too low, not good)

So you may have to use memory_ratio of 1:1, and lower the HTT to whatever the memory can take, and this would also limit the CPU max clock.

If your memory can go at most to 218 MHz with ratio 1:1, so HTT = 218 MHz, CPU would be 218 x 11 = 2398 MHz.

This is an example how A64 board without AGP/PCI lock could limit either memory speed or CPU speed, and not flexible for overclocking adjustment. As HTT cannot be raised and a memory ratio of 5:6 cannot be used to max out both memory and CPU as shown in an earlier post.