• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

my screen wobbles.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

woods

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Fort Worth Texas
I just noticed that only the bottom right portion of my screen shakes a little. it is acting as if it were scared of the rest of my screen. has the rest of my screen been picking on it or threatining it, and if so, should I punish it? no really what should I do and what could cause it?
 

JimmyG

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Michigan
Wobblying like that can be a bad monitor or a bad video card. Try the monitor on another computer or try another video card to isolate the problem.
 

zoopa_man

Member
Joined
May 24, 2001
Location
NY where the cows out number the people
have you got anything near that corner of your monitor that is putting out any kind of electro magnetic field ?

I've noticed with my system if I get my monitor too close to my astron power supply the screen starts to shake....and I've also noticed that if I turn my speakers way up very loud my screen also starts to wobble (and not it's not from the vibrations) I'd check around your monitor to see if there's anything that could be putting out an electronic field causing your monitor to go goofy.....

Other then that i'd go with everyone else and say your monitor or video card is starting to go.....If you notice slight color distortions then i'd start to look further into a video or monitor problem.
 

cwb27

Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Location
Ontario, Canada
Like everyone else said it's an electromagnetic field (more than likely) When my furnace kicks in sometimes (which is downstairs) occasionally I get a little shake in the monitor... kind of weird but it does it. I know monitors in close proximity to microwaves will do it occaionally as well.
 

o770

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
try moving it then to somewhere far away from where it is now and degauss the screen..
 
OP
woods

woods

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Fort Worth Texas
I hope it is not the monitor but If it is one of the two I would perfer it to be the monitor since I have a few spare ones but no extra video cards. The only thing that has a magnetic feild and is closer than 1 meter away is a VERY small fan that is for the chip set cooler. and it is about a foot from the screen. :(
 

PsycoPhreak

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2001
Some wall-warts ( plug in transformers ) can cause the screen to distort or "wobble" if they are plugged into the same outlet/powerstrip as the monitor..also, you may be drawing to much from the outlet that the monitor is plugged into, doesn't mean you have to much plugged in..it can be caused by anything on the same circuit breaker that draws a large amount of power.

try plugging the monitor into a different outlet on a different circuit breaker in your house, even if you have to use an extension cord just to test, you may be surprised to see the results.

Just my $.02
 
OP
woods

woods

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Fort Worth Texas
that would make cents. I have not finishedinstalling all of the eletrical in my comp room so it is running on the same breaker as the fridge.
 

palee72

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2002
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
woods said:
I hope it is not the monitor but If it is one of the two I would perfer it to be the monitor since I have a few spare ones but no extra video cards. The only thing that has a magnetic feild and is closer than 1 meter away is a VERY small fan that is for the chip set cooler. and it is about a foot from the screen. :(


If it is only a foot from the monitor, that could be it.

Is the side of the case on, covering the fan?

Is there a window in the case that could let EMF (ElectroMagnetic Frequency) out of the case?

Try moving the monitor away from the fan. Fans are very EMf noisy. A small desk fan can effect a monitor at well over a meter. I had one that was nearly 6 feet away, and, depending on its orentation.

::edit:: Also, make sure that there aren't any power lines in the wall behind the monitor, and, make sure that there isn't a circuit breaker box on the other side of the wall. I ran into that at work once. A person complained that their screen (as/400 dumb terminal, green monochrome )wabbled. I changed the tube(monitor), moved that line(data cable), thinking that the floresent lighting was inducing current into it, I then changed the line, thinking maybe the shielding was faulty and picking up EMF or RF from some place. Then I moved the tube away from the wall... Fixed it.. I looked behind the wall... there were 3 main breaker boxes on the other side...

Hope I was a little help..
 
Last edited:

Clarpet

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2002
Location
Iowa
Earthquakes. These always cause large vibrations. Its possible that one has zoned in on the corner of your monitor.

Another thing to check for is a rip in the space/time continuim, this will usually distort many things, and can release large amounts of radiation, most of which will probably go directly after your monitor, especially the corner.

The last and most important thing to check for is goblins. They probably don't know anything about computers, but I usually find that a good dose of goblinocide in a problem area usually clears up any problem I come across.

Or it might just be a strong magnetic force like flagelance.
 
OP
woods

woods

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Fort Worth Texas
I think clarpet got it.:D I dont think the earthquake is possible since I live in texas but the space time continum thing could be it. I think that it is the monitor though. It is slowly creeping outward from the corner. Either that or the space time rip is expanding and is going to destroy the universe as we know it. If this happens, dont blame me, blame phillips. It is there monitor tht is destroying the continum.
 

Clarpet

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2002
Location
Iowa
honestly if you want to know what might cause this:

in a cathode ray tube, the devices that produce the rays can begin to short out, or just plain die. The shaking effect can be caused by some that are going bad and going on and off at random.

if your monitor is less than 3 years old, RMA that POS, other wise take it out back and put a bullet in it, its as good as a horse w/a broken leg - the cost to repair that kind of thing (assuming that's the cause) is probably more than a decent NEW monitor, or close enough to make it not worth the cash.

IMHO I would almost bet that's the cause.

When the "shaking" is isolated to a particular area on the screen and the remainder of the image is fine, THATS NOT YOUR VID CARD....it would only be your card if the entire image, or a perfect block (yes, like a square or rectangle) was "making waves" on the screen...or particular little bits were going looney......if you've ever seen artifacts, that's what I'm talking about....w/a vid card its either real bad, real good, or dead in the water.

Go get a new screen. Unless you like the "vibration" effect that wiggle adds for your porn :lol:
 
OP
woods

woods

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Fort Worth Texas
I just noticed something odd. My screen does not shake when I play C/S! Why would it not shake in a game but during all other functions?
 

ninthebin

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Location
Liverpool, UK
I always notice unexplained shakin on mine due to things going on in the kitchen IE washing machine, tumble dryer...dunno if its anything to do with the kitchen being below the room or not...
 

chrismacan

Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
Montreal, Quebec
In a case like that one thing most people forget to look at is the cable that connects the monitor to the PC. If it is at all loose it can cause a few weird effects. If you see it again check the cable...