• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need a PSu with 12V/25A or more

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

renegade44

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Location
Phoenix AZ
Looking for a cyberdeal fora good PSU that has a t least 25 amps on the 12 volt line

Anrec true **** 550 look good but will consider others.
 

deez

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Location
Louisville, KY
Last edited:
OP
R

renegade44

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Location
Phoenix AZ
I'm running an enermax eg-431p-ve. It was an asskicker in its day but with all my HD and an abit NF-7S/2500xp 15A on the 12v rail isn't enough
 

greenman100

Disabled
Joined
May 18, 2003
Location
trying to keep all the magic smoke in
renegade44 said:
I'm running an enermax eg-431p-ve. It was an asskicker in its day but with all my HD and an abit NF-7S/2500xp 15A on the 12v rail isn't enough


What evidence do you have to support this? I'm running an NF7-S, [email protected]+ speeds, 4 HDs, 2 optical drives, 9 fans...and my 12v rail under heavy load is 12.08v measured with a multimeter. I hope you checked your voltages on a multimeter. Also, I'm funning a Fortron 350w, with just 16A on the 12v line.
 
OP
R

renegade44

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Location
Phoenix AZ
greenman100 said:



What evidence do you have to support this? I'm running an NF7-S, [email protected]+ speeds, 4 HDs, 2 optical drives, 9 fans...and my 12v rail under heavy load is 12.08v measured with a multimeter. I hope you checked your voltages on a multimeter. Also, I'm funning a Fortron 350w, with just 16A on the 12v line.

Could be that my first indication that somethings is wrong is hearing the overload relay kicking in shutting down all power to my computer.
 

greenman100

Disabled
Joined
May 18, 2003
Location
trying to keep all the magic smoke in
Geeze buddy....I was just trying to help. Obviously, 16A is good enough for mine, though Fortrons are underrated. Maybe you have a high-end video card?

Anyway, I'd recommend the Fortron 530/550. You may have to change pinouts on the 550, but if you get it cheaper and want to, go for it.
 

deez

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Location
Louisville, KY
The vantec power supply is pretty sweet. Its a 3 fan unit, comes with a 24 pin server plug and includes an adapter for standard ATX mobo. Also includes several SATA drive power connectors