• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[Need Advice] Building a Custom Gaming PC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Atlen

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to the PC scene and was hoping to obtain some helpful advice on building a custom gaming PC. That said, here are some details:

Budget: $800-$900 (USD)
Purchase Date: September 2014

Goal:
I'm not aiming to run the very best of Crysis, but I'd really like to play the game Dragon Age: Inquisition on its highest setting (ultra/ultra high?), as well as other games if it can be managed. I've heard the game is possibly (graphically) comparable to Battlefield 4, considering they run on the same engine (Frostbite 3). However, the exact specs (for Dragon Age) have yet to be released.

What I know:
  • I won't need a monitor (plan on connecting PC to TV via HDMI)
  • I would prefer a mini or mid tower if it doesn't have too big of an impact on what parts I can install. A full tower PC's just too big for me.
  • I imagine parts (graphic cards, motherboards, PSUs, etc) will get cheaper by the time September rolls around, but what should I look for in them? Reading about all these different graphic cards, for example, is like being introduced to a foreign language.
  • I've received a lot of advice on where to look for parts, but what's the best method of going about it? What do I look for or want in a PC part shop?

Feedback I've received:
I have received a good amount of feedback or suggestions from the Dragon Age community about things to consider when building my PC. Some of these include:
  • Avoid water coolers.
    It's a gimmick for everyone except hardcore overclockers and silent fanatics.
  • Use an air cooler.