• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need Advice, I need a cheap overclockable MB, with Video, Lan, and sound onboard.... ??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Need Advice, I need a cheap overclockable MB, with Video, Lan, and sound onboard.... ??

Im throwing around the idea of putting together a cheap box just for folding. A cheap MB and Duron would fit the ticket for me, but I would like to overclock the Duron, to get the best time for its use out of it.
Any suggestions? I don't care if its jumperless or not. But I do want to be able to overclock the chip, run [email protected] on windows 2000, and check on it maybe once a week.
Any suggestions?
AKDUDE
 

Tachyon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Location
Arkansas
AKDUDE (Apr 03, 2001 09:27 p.m.):
Im throwing around the idea of putting together a cheap box just for folding. A cheap MB and Duron would fit the ticket for me, but I would like to overclock the Duron, to get the best time for its use out of it.
Any suggestions? I don't care if its jumperless or not. But I do want to be able to overclock the chip, run [email protected] on windows 2000, and check on it maybe once a week.
Any suggestions?
AKDUDE

Take a look at the spec's on the MSI K7T Pro 2A (not KT133A)and see what you think.

Terry
 

IWILL_LOVER

Registered
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
I would suggest you to go with FIC AZ11E.
You can overclock with it, FSB as well as multiplier. ATA66/100. Around 82 bucks.
You can read a lot of good review abou this board.
i am going to buy this board. and give you my own review.
Have a nice day.
 

OpenFriday

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2001
Location
Hamilton, Ontario
Im in the same boat AK im attempting to build a cheap box myself. Ive got the duron 650. Im not going with on board sound though as that eats up a lot of the processing power so im told. I'll buy a 20$ sound card from futures or something. What are you going to use to cool your duron? Im just gonna get a Vantec and AS from Terry's shop (once i get the $$$). Let me know what happens with the mobo.
 
OP
AKDUDE

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
OPEN, I think I will try out the Volcano 2, nothing special. They have them here locally for 12.50, and if it sucks, I can just take it back (maybe). Im not really looking for a crazy overclock, just something cheap to fold with. Don't care about onboard sound hogging CPU cycles, cause [email protected] dosn't make sound :)

I may even go with the PC CHIPS 810LMR. I has onboard video, sound, modem, lan, and ummm something else. Only has 2 pci slots, but I could care less. I already have 3 computers folding anyway.

I have a Harddrive, extra case, and a 64meg stick of ram, and even a couple extra CDROM drives, so I figure all I need is the motherboard and CPU to get me going if it has LAN and video on board. Probably won't even have a moniter hooked up to it, unless I just need to check that its still going.

Probably will go with LINUX or Windows2000. Im thinking of going the linux way though, W2k is sorta bloated for this task.

AKDUDE
 

SickBoy

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 13, 2001
Location
Minneapolis, MN
I built a box with that PCCHIPS board and a duron 700 and to tell you the truth you're not going to overclock with that thing any more that maybe 70-80 MHz. It won't change multiplier. If I were you I'd go with that FIC AZ11E, I have built 2 boxes with that mobo and combined with a decent cooler, it's a easy and relatively stable way to 150-200 extra MHz of performance. If you're looking for cheap LAN cards and video cards try www.compgeeks.com they've got plenty of old used stuff for real cheap.

SickBoy
 

IWILL_LOVER

Registered
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
AK,
do you think that PCCHIP 810 board can overclock? Does it has a fuction or jumper to overclock the FSB or multiplies. I have heard that it does every thing automaticaly and the FSB or multiply cannot be changed.
Have a nice day.
 
OP
AKDUDE

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
Hmmm well for some reason I thought it did with jumpers, maybe Im mixing it up with another board. I know the FIC is a good board for the money, I built my father a system using one. Maybe I will just go that route, and get a cheap lan and video card.
Thanks for all the help fellas!
akdude