• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need advice on a HTPC build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jokerzwyld77

First off let me get this out of the way... I have NEVER built a HTPC before but I have built untold amount of PC's for myself, friends and customers.

What I am looking at is replacing the overpriced DVR rental fees from my cable company to save money in the long run.

What I need the HTPC to be able to do is listed below.

NO GAMING AT ALL ( I have my rig in my sig for that )

Need it to be able to run a 1080p 42" LCD to watch Blu-ray and DVD's.

Need it to have Massive storage (Thinking a 1.5Tb HDD because it seems every 2tb HDD I read about is crap ) for the DVR function as the current DVR I have fills up so fast it it unreal when recording a HD Channel.

Need it to have some type of TiVo style recording option to be able to record seasons as they come on and so forth. Not sure if this is something I could get to use with my cable service ( think TV Guide Channel ).

Need the Mother Board to have 5.1 audio as I am buying a new Surround Sound system soon.

Case has to be all Black. Wifes orders! Everything is going to have to match the current entertainment system / TV according to her.

PARTS I HAVE SO FAR IN MIND:

Case
SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / 0.8mm SECC GD05B micro-ATX / Mini-DTX / Mini-ITX MB, 1x5.25", 2x3.5"+1x2.5"HDD or 1x3.5"+2x2.5"HDD, 3x120mm golf bladed fan, 11" expansion card capable HTPC Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811163166

Power Supply
CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139008

CPU
AMD Athlon II X2 240 Regor 2.8GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Processor ADX240OCGQBOX