• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need advice on upgrades!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rothery

Registered
Hi, im brand new to pc customising, I had a pc built for me a while back and frankly it just isnt cutting it. My specs are:

CPU: 2.1Ghz AMD A6-3500 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
RAM: 16GB
Video card: ATI Radeon HD 5400 Series
Power supply: 500w

My assumption is that the video card is the issue, but frankly I know very little. Any suggestions as to what I need to upgrade would be very much appreciated, but be aware that I'm on a pretty tight budget. Thanks!

What is the budget exactly for this upgrade? And for your sake, what brand is the PSU? Can you provide a link?

Also, why are you upgrading? For gaming I assume (you mention the vidoe card being the issue so...)

Wow thanks for getting back so quickly. I dont know what brand the PSU is as i havent actually opened it i can just see that is says max 500w through the clear section of the case. I will open it if its important.

budget is around £100, no idea if thats going to get me anywhere.

Yes the upgrades are for gaming, it will play games but only on the lowest graphic settings.

The power supply is one of the most important parts of the PC. A lot of the time they are garbage. ANd if they are garbage, they can (at worst) take out your entire system. I just want to make sure that you have something decent there before you upgrade your GPU.

That said, for that budget look for a 750Ti in your neck of the woods. :)

The power supply is one of the most important parts of the PC. A lot of the time they are garbage. ANd if they are garbage, they can (at worst) take out your entire system. I just want to make sure that you have something decent there before you upgrade your GPU.