• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help building AMD based upgradeable computer! I'm a newb

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

beavdabomb

Registered
I'm moving out of my parents house and I NEED a computer for my new place. The thing is I'm low on cash and want something affordable now, but will allow me to keep the same mobo so that a huge upgrade in performance would only require and quick CPU swap and top of the line memory thrown in.

My main focus would be the motherboard for now. Whats a great mobo that will take a while to become obsolete but still accept 'affordable' CPUs?

Next is the CPU. What would be a good bang for the buck CPU? AMD ofcourse.

Memory isnt too big of an issue as I dont plan on doing any gaming until I do my big upgrade where I'll throw in a 9900 pro :)(hopefully), new cpu, fastest memory and loads of it. Right now Id like to use like 256mb PC333 (slow), but I have it lying around and would like to make use of it...just for now. Would that now work with todays high end mobos?

HD can always be upgraded by a lot.

Power supply would need to be beefy to accomidate the future upgrades? Whats a good one?

Case would just need to be a generic case, nothing special, just be able to house all the goodies. Im sure I could find a cheap one for like 30 bucks.

No graphics card for now, ill just be surfing the web. Unless a small one would help enough to be worth buying.

I have the minor parts necessary to build a computer lying around.

BTW, Im trying to keep it under 300 bucks. Heres what i think..
CPU- Athlon XP 1800+ $60
Mobo-Abit AT7-Max2 $150
Case-Generic ATX (power supply would be swaped) $20

throw me some thoughts

Top Hat Theater